close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Removing and Reinstalling Optics - Accuracy

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by Toyman, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. Toyman

    Toyman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Let's talk about removing and reinstalling optics as it applies to accuracy.

    Provided it was originally installed correctly and sighted in, if you remove an optic such as a red-dot or scope from a rail and re-install it in the same location, does it typically stay on target or pretty close?

    I'm primarily thinking of ranges of 100 yards or less.
     
  2. Sol

    Sol

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    My EOTech does, and why wouldn't they be expected to if placed back precisely? Now on the true red dots, where paralax is an issue, I'd be more concerned, but even then it's an easy fix as long as you've not damaged the sight/scope in the process.
     

  3. internal

    internal

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would assume that even the best mounts would be off one or two clicks after removing and re-installing.

    I could be wrong though.
     
  4. BlutoBlutarsky

    BlutoBlutarsky

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southwest TN
    I take my red dot off and put back on every trip to the range. Mine is mounted in a Larue QD LT-150 and I've never had to reset it.
     
  5. Kentak

    Kentak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,196
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    If the sight is on a monolithic mount which is properly attached to the rail at the same location, it should be spot on, especially at 100 yds or less. Now, if you insist on knocking the wings off a gnat or for Olympic competition, maybe not. More than good enough for combat or range fun.

    You couldn't be as confident if the mount is not monolithic. By that I mean such as a typical telescopic tube sight mounted via two individual rings.
     
  6. Kilroy

    Kilroy JAFMP Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 1998
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High Plains
    I have a S&B scope and a Aimpoint T1, that are used on the same Colt carbine. Not at the same time of course....:whistling:

    They retain their zero, every time.

    The key is the quality of the mount. LaRue.

    Quality and customer service define LaRue.
     
  7. kgain673

    kgain673

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    glen burnie, MD
    get a Larue mount and you don't have to worry about that so much.
     
  8. RWBlue

    RWBlue Mr. CISSP, CISA CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    23,566
    Likes Received:
    855
    You should not be able to tell the difference on the red dots.

    Scopes are a different matter.
    Larue mounts are accurate enough that I can remove and remount.
    Others, not so much.