close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Releasing slide lock while empty can damage?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by BigDan35, Apr 6, 2010.

1. BigDan35

BigDan35

I picked up my new gun today: Glock 23

After going through the Safe Handling Demonstration, the salesman gave me some tips and advice. One of the things he said is that there are two ways of releasing the slide after it has been locked back.

1) Pushing down on the slide lock, enabling the slide to go forward

2) Manually pulling the slide back and letting it go forward.

He informed me that either way is fine, but if the gun is empty...never to use the first method (pushing down on the slide lock to let the slide go forward) he said if the gun is empty then it could get damaged by doing that.

he told me why, but he was going into technical terms and I'm a newbie to guns so I didn't know what he meant. Anyways, is this true?

2. crushproof

crushproof

i'm not sure if this is true also, i hope not because i am guilty of doing that letting the slide go on an empty chamber. but my friend who owns a dan wesson 1911 said not to do it when he let me handle it. i guess on 1911's it's bad, not sure on glocks.

ps.: congrats on the 23:) i love mine ;)

Last edited: Apr 6, 2010

3. BigDan35

BigDan35

Thank you! Can't wait to buy some ammo for her and start shootin'!

4. W4CNG

W4CNG

Been doing it on all my Glocks since 1991. Never a problem. Old wives tale still going around on the Internet.....

5. tinman517

tinman517

Either method should be fine. Personally, I prefer to release the slide manually.

6. fsqridah

fsqridah