Recurve Bows

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by Rosokill, Oct 21, 2004.

1. Rosokill

Rosokill Who are you?

I've always heard that recurves aren't as accurate as compound bows, and recurves suck, get a compound, blah, blah, blah.

So what is the truth? Recurves can't be all that bad. They seemed to work for hundreds of years before compounds!

2. joker1

joker1

Recurves can be very accurate. A compound can be easier to shoot. The excentric pullies give you "let off" i.e. has a greatly decreased pull weight at full draw. This allows you to take your time aiming, or hold your draw waiting for the perfect shot. Just ask an olympic archer if recurves are inherently inaccurate! The standard Glocktalk advice.......get both ;f .

3. rappa29

rappa29 JAFO

Go to www.archerytalk.com . Plenty of great info and nice folks.

I'm a newbie to archery, but received numerous advice to start with a recurve so basic skills and mechanics can be learned properly.

There are guys that hunt with recurves and have the Bucks, Bear and Hogs to prove the accuracy of a recurve!

4. noway

noway

{I've always heard that recurves aren't as accurate as compound bows, and recurves suck, get a compound, blah, blah, blah. }

With most tradional equipment they are just as good as most compounds but are normally used for shorter distances. Unlike the compound, you are pulling the full weight and holding it vrs the compound is pulling the full weight but you have a % of let-off or holding available at full draw.

Get what you like and can best shot. Regardless if it is a compound or long/recurve bow.

{So what is the truth? Recurves can't be all that bad. They seemed to work for hundreds of years before compounds!}

this is all so true.

5. lethal tupperwa

lethal tupperwa

Not Furgerson.

Stacy Grosscope(sp) Hit aspirin with his recurve.

He also hit 3 BBs that I did not see but heard.

It was a Keystone Country Stores out door days.