close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Recoil Spring Change

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Head Space, Jun 20, 2012.

1. Head Space

Head Space

I hope this post is in the right place. I am new to Glock with a 20c. I read some owners are changing the spring weight on the recoil rod. Why is this done? Also why change the rod to steel? Do shooters install recoil buffers? I do like my new G and would like it to "walk the walk". Thanks

2. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

First of all, do not ever use a recoil buffer in a Glock. They wear quickly and can jam the pistol.

Now, folks change recoil rods and springs just because they can. In most instances, it is a waste of money. Folks buy a 10mm pistol because of the power, but cannot handle the recoil and attempt to make it feel like a .22LR Ruger.

The only purpose of a recoil rod in a Glock is to align the recoil spring and make field strips/reassembly easier. It has no effect on accuracy and an aftermarket rod may have an adverse effect on reliability. Many folks think the Glock engineers are idiots, and those folks are wrong.

The factory spring is perfect for all factory ammo. Some competitors like a lighter spring to make the slide cycle faster.

As far as reliability and useful life, I replaced the original recoil spring assembly on my 1996 G19 9mm Glock at 74,000 rounds.

3. Bruce M

Bruce M

A substantial number of people here claim better results with an aftermarket spring and steel rod. But more people who swap out the stock unit with an aftermarket version end with reliabliity issues than those that swap a stock recoil spring assembly with a new stock recoil spring assembly when the original one weakens. I like reliability.

4. Head Space

Head Space

Thanks for the response. I bought the c model to minimize recoil but I do reload and enjoy a pistol that says "here I am".