Recoil sping came out

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by FireForged, Oct 21, 2013.

1. FireForged

FireForged Millenium #3936 Millennium Member

Ok, I am not new to glocks but I am new to owning a gen4. I was returning from the range and as usual, cleaned my gun. When putting the recoil spring back in, mounting the slide on the frame and racking the slide... the recoil spring came out the front. I was like What the??? I took it back apart (removed the spring) and looked at the area where the recoil spring seats.. I tried to wiggle the spring through myself and it will not but how in the heck did it come out on its own? I am baffled and honestly and a little concerned that this may occur in a real crisis. I have stopped carrying it for now until I get a idea on what is going on.

Last edited: Oct 21, 2013
  2. lyodbraun

lyodbraun

Prob wasn't seated correctly is all.. Nothing to worry bout it will still go bang with out a recoil spring

3. tager

tager

Evening FireForged

Was the RSA correctly seated in the barrel cut out at reassembly?

If it wasn't seated all the way in the cut out the RSA rear can catch on something (maybe the serial number area in the frame) then the spring will compress & protrude out the front as the slide is put on.

4. FireForged

Its possible that it was not seated perfectly but I have never seen a glock spring ever come out the end of a gun. I didn't even know that it was possible. I wish I had taken a pic of it but I was so mortified, I quickly corrected it.

5. Made in Austria

Made in Austria

How old is your gen4 Glock? I ask because the older recoil spring assemblies don't have the metal cup on the front end of the spring which sits nicely against the slide, which makes it impossible to slip through the muzzle/slide. If you have the older spring (shown on the right) then you can call Glock and they will send you the upgraded spring for free.

[​IMG]

6. GaryC

GaryC

I agree, this happened to me on an early Gen4 G17