close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Recoil guide rod

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by bear_1, Apr 18, 2012.

1. bear_1

bear_1

hello, everyone i have been shooting my g26 for about two yrs now and it has been flawless until i decided to change out my recoil spring and went to a stainless steel one i had a couple of fte's does the spring have to wear a little or is the ammo, rem. 115gr. please advise

2. voyager4520

voyager4520 -----

It could be the ammo. Remington 115gr is some of the weakest ammo out there.

You could try running a lightly oiled patch between the spring coils on the guide rod. Then once you reassemble the gun, lock the slide back and apply some oil to the exposed portion of the guide rod with a lightly oiled q-tip.

I use a lightly oiled patch wrapped around an old expired ID card to get between the spring coils. Having oil on the guide rod will of course attract more residue, to clean it I wipe it down alternating between clean and lightly oiled patches.

Last edited: Apr 18, 2012

3. M&P15T

M&P15T Beard One

Why not just put the stock one back in and be done with it?

4. bear_1

bear_1

i was just thinking steel is more lasting than polymer (Plastic)

5. NCWalrus

NCWalrus

Use the stock one until you have problems

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

6. Bruce M

Bruce M

Kindly add me to the list of those who think the solution to this one is simply returning to the original recoil spring assembly.

7. barth

barth six barrels

I had an occasional failure to return completely to battery with a tungsten. The spring tension feels lighter on my tungsten and stainless guide rods (they are all captured RSA).

I'm sure the guide rods are fine.
    But the recoil springs are suspect.

I bought two OEM RSAs and problem solved.

I'm just saying

8. SCmasterblaster

SCmasterblaster G17 carrier since 1989 Millennium Member