close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Real-Life Results vs. Bullet testing??

Discussion in 'Caliber Corner' started by Leopardtrack, Dec 3, 2017.

1. Leopardtrack

Leopardtrack

The caliber/stopping/killing power debate seems to have evolved into 2 camps...let's call them "Street" vs "Testing."

For example....as a retired-now police officer, I have done a bit of reading on terminal ballistics, viewed actual autopsy's and read autopsy reports as well BUT in essence my opinion/s are based on incidents that I have been involved in directly as well what I have seen for myself while present when other officers did the shooting....also being present and seeing the aftermath of hundreds of street shootings...both DOA's as well as victims who survived their wounds.

The other camp would be a guy like QED. Many of us here (myself especially) have had a good time breaking his balls BUT I will be the first to admit, he is a VERY knowledgeable and well read guy who has obviously taken the time to educate himself on the subject. He HAS acquired allot of knowledge on a subject that I find boring but I will admit IS IMPORTANT.

Bullet technology has been developed by people like him who have conducted testing etc to bring bullet tech to the point where it is today.....then I guess you can say that people like me tested it on what it was intended for.

Which has made me think that I AM being a bit closed minded (or stubborn) on what the tech guys are saying and that a person like QED is doing the same about what people like me are saying too.

Why should the two be mutually exclusive of each other??

When the engineers at Ferrari develop a new technology they figure it out on the computer and make it. The second thing that is done is that their test driver gets into the car and tests it out on the track. The driver then gives the engineers his feedback and together they perfect the new product.