Range Report (need more practice)

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by REA9mm, Feb 10, 2010.

1. REA9mm

REA9mm get ready

I took the opportunity to head on down to my local firing line tonight. I am still a novice as I have only been at this shooting business for a few weeks now, so I am trying to get all the practice I can.

Many of my follow up shots were landing low and just a bit left. I assumed this meant I was anticipating recoil. I tried to focus on recovering my sight picture quickly for the follow ups, and I wasn't firing until I had the target clearly sighted. My trigger finger may have also been a bit too much on the first knuckle, rather than the pad of my finger, but I'm not sure if that would contribute to low shooting. Anyone have tips for shooting low?

I did have one failure to fire, but it I don't think it was the G19's fault. It was the last round in the mag, I pulled the trigger and it only clicked. I ejected the round and saw that the primer had been struck, but no bang. I put that round on the top of the next mag and it went bang the second time. I was using 115gr FMJ PRVI Partizan.

Anyway, I feel I am getting better each time. Oh, and it's a lot of fun too. :supergrin:

2. MetalSlugIV

MetalSlugIV

I am a new shooter as well and I have having the exact same problem! I have a Glock 19 and I consistently shoot low and to the left. Even after I looked at this chart and tried to fix it I couldn't hit dead center. I'm pretty sure I have a trigger control problem and I will just need to do some dry fire practice with some Snap-Caps. Regardless I once I have the money I will taking some classes at my local range so I can have an instructor look at me as I shoot and tell me the flaws that I can't find myself.

[​IMG]

3. REA9mm

REA9mm get ready