close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Qwest FIOS modem

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by GenX, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. GenX

    GenX

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Idaho
    Thinking about switching from cable to fiberoptic for less money. Which modem and where can I find one? Actiontec Q1000 is what they recommend, but doesn't look like it's readily available. Qwest claims they do not throttle bandwidth, any truth to this?
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011
  2. handyman

    handyman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    35
    I just got that one, got it through qwest. That thing can cook eggs on top it runs hot, ended up putting two heat sinks on top and a small fan behind it. Very happy with the speed had the 1.5 and went to the 12.
     

  3. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    just an fyi, looks like they have guides to setup these alternate devices:

    http://www.qwest.com/internethelp/modems.html

    it might be worth investigating if any of those are more readily available.

    a note: since they've all got integrated VDSL modems it's a good bet your service won't really be "fios" proper, it's either fttn or fttc or fttn (node/curb/neighborhood).

    basically, they run fiber to someplace close to your home (within 4000 wire feet) and use high speed dsl over the existing copper lines between that point and your home. (dsl decreases in capacity the further away the end point is from the dslam)

    this saves some cost since they don't need to trench new lines all the way through your yard and potentially have to drill into your house to install fiberoptic cable.
     
  4. GenX

    GenX

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Idaho
    Thanks. That's a good point. I figured it wouldn't be a true fiberoptic service. The qwest rep also claims that bandwidth isn't shared with the surrounding neighborhood. If we can get a solid 12M, with no throttling in bandwidth for less money, cable can kiss my hairy toe.
     
  5. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    well, reality is, all services are shared at some point. also, 'sharing' can have a lot of different meanings. for example, whatever equipment services your house will also be servicing all the houses within a 4000' radius of it. then, whatever backhaul that equipment has will all connect together at some point with everything else in the area, and so on and so on.

    all you can hope for is that they've got enough bandwidth at that sharing points so that nobody notices.

    if you want good insight into how the service performs in your area, you should look for some neighbors in your immediate area who have the service and ask them how it is.
     
  6. GenX

    GenX

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Idaho
    The service just became available in our location. Qwest trucks were all over the place these last couple months.