Questions for non-LEO armorers

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Irelander, Mar 10, 2010.

1. Irelander

Irelander Glocker

I just completed the Glock Armorers Course yesterday so naturally I'm pretty excited. I'd really like to make the most of it and start a little side business servicing Glocks. Just wondering how many of you guys have embarked on the same journey. I suppose I will need an FFL to work on pistols or I could team up with a local dealer. I really want to gain as much experience as I can as an armorer, but I'm not too sure where to start. Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

2. JBP55

JBP55

I buy/sell/trade/work on Glocks occasionally, no FFL needed.

Last edited: Mar 11, 2010

3. PEC-Memphis

PEC-Memphis Scottish Member

I'm not a lawyer, so take this for what it is worth....

By Federal Law

1. I don't believe you need an FFL to have a business to WORK on firearms. Although, establishing an LLC might be a good idea.

2. I believe there is a numerical limit on how many firearms you can SELL over a set period of time without holding a FFL and/or "sell firearms as a business".

As you know working on Glock firearms are about as "simple as it gets" for firearms. A lot of people simply work on their own (for better or worse) and it may be difficult to convince someone to pay you to work on their Glock for enough money to make it worthwhile as a "stand alone" side job. If you can provide some other related services you might have better success.

I took the course so that I could buy parts and service Glocks for our IDPA club.

4. MisterPX

MisterPX Guest

Something to mention, you can work on a firearm without a FFL, as long as the owner is present. If he leaves the firearm with you for teh night, you have to have a FFL. This was discussed and put out by teh bat guys a couple years back.

5. zeke66

zeke66

Can't you work on and repair guns as a business with just a C&R license, as long as you don't buy/sell?

6. JBP55

JBP55