question regarding entering the army

Discussion in 'US Army Forum' started by powercore01, Mar 23, 2020.

1. powercore01

powercore01

hi, right out of the gate, i'm a soft more college student who has depression,anxiety, and anger issues. i go to a psychiatrist to talk and sort this out and even take some anti-depressants. i want to join infantry but my parents feel like i'm not at all suited for it (i wonder if i would even be allowed into the army). i just want some real advice, what do i do, what do i improve, what do i say?

NMG26 likes this.
  2. redrick

redrick

The army is not going to cure you . IMO you should keep seeing your doctor or try another doctor until you feel better . Then decide what you want to do in life . Going in the service is a big commitment . You don’t want a bad mark that will follow you the rest of your life if you get in trouble there .

You should try jogging and going to the gym . That will help with your depression and when you get to feeling better about yourself , it might help with your anxiety and anger .

Last edited: Mar 23, 2020

3. rangerjd

rangerjd

A couple of things, as an Infantry Soldier, which I was for years, some of the things you discuss are not compatible with being an Infantry Soldier. Number 1 is anger problems. You have to be able to think on your feet, react, shoot, move, communicate very quickly. Severe anger only clouds the thinking and gets people killed. Talk with a recruiter, they can give you the best information on this subject.

Also, not to sound picky, but it's the same thing I would tell all three of my sons, who went Infantry. Learn how to write better, ie, using capitalization where needed, etc..

powercore01, Redeemed, Bus007 and 2 others like this.
  4. nursetim

nursetim