close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Question on furnace for HVAC guys.

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by GreenDrake, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. GreenDrake

    GreenDrake Rip Lips

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    North Idaho
    So this happens to everyone at some point. First cold night where the furnace needed to kick on for the year, I hear the furnace try to start up, it has worked with the AC so I know the blower is working.

    I hear it try to click the igniter to fire the furnace up...nothing. Just a click. So I think it is the igniter and I take it out, sand it down a bit and replace it....still nothing.

    What's a good troubleshoot for this? or is it just an old igniter rod that needs replaced? Can these rods lose that spark after a few years of sanding them off? Not sure where to start. It's about a 12 year old Frigidaire furnace.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  2. Gareth68

    Gareth68

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Missouri....West of Mexico
    I am not an HVAC guy.

    That out of the way, why do you think it is spark and not fuel?

    You need to confirm what the issue is.

    Is it getting fuel?

    If yes, then sure look at the ignition side.

    What is the fuel source?

    Oil? Gas?
     

  3. GreenDrake

    GreenDrake Rip Lips

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    North Idaho
  4. GreenDrake

    GreenDrake Rip Lips

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    North Idaho
    Go figure, the one part a neighbor gave me years ago...I found it. Ceramic igniter was done, replaced it and it fired up...waiting on the blower to kick in and I should be good to go. Newfound respect for HVAC guys' knees and thighs, that's a workout to squat like that in those little areas.
     
  5. GreenDrake

    GreenDrake Rip Lips

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    North Idaho
    Can't get the blower to turn on, circ or on mode, seems like two problems in one.
     
  6. wlkjr

    wlkjr

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    427
    Do you have a circuit board with flashing lights. If so, the number of flashes equate to a code that will give you some hints. Moisture is the enemy sparking units, especially if it's an outside unit. Use a hair dryer to dry out the moisture for about 5 minutes. Be sure there is no gas leak though.
    There is a purge fan that comes on first to purge the unit of any type gas. That is to keep it from exploding if there is a leak. Sometimes insects built nests or webs in the vents and that can prevent proper operation.
     
  7. Dennis in MA

    Dennis in MA Get off my lawn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    42,700
    Likes Received:
    2,815
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    My furnace at the lake - when coming on for the first time in several hours - will turn on about 5x before the circulating blower kicks in. I've been told "that's normal" but I'm not buying it.
     
  8. GreenDrake

    GreenDrake Rip Lips

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    North Idaho
    Figured it out, there was a loose crimp on the blower wire as I backtraced the issue. re-wired it and she kicked on. Thanks for the help guys. I thought it was that stainless post that fires off to kick the flame up, happened to be the actual ceramic igniter that had a break in it. All good.