close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

question for firefighters

Discussion in 'Firefighter/EMS Talk' started by meshmdz, Apr 6, 2006.

1. meshmdz

meshmdz OBAMA 2012

i have a criminal justice degree and am having trouble getting hired for some reason. its not because i have been in trouble, its just that around here, police work is very political... sadly enough, its the truth.

however, i have thought about becoming a fire fighter. i was wanting to ask the firefighters out there how they like the line of work and how they got the job? did you all know someone who helped you get hired? how long is fire school? was it tough? is the pay good? etc...

i would be greatful for someone to help me out here. thanks:supergrin:

2. Pa Glock guy

Pa Glock guy

Its a good job. Ive been a career fire fighter for 15 years in PA. I was a volunteer years before that and liked it alot so thats why im here today. The pay is good for this area. Youll get your base salary which will probably suck at first but with the night shift, shift differentals, holidays, overtimes, possible promotions, you can do pretty darn good. The hardest part is starting out as the pay is usually low and thats when most guys have young families so its rough for some. I get 5 weeks vacation, Blue Cross, decent prescription plan, nice schedule, pension plan, up to 170 sick days. Most fire fighters work for a set number of days then off for a set number of days. You can work part time as a cop if you like. Working for city goverment is usually pretty good. If the dept. has a union that helps as well. Political connections will help you in some depts. but not all. When I got hired we went to school for 6 weeks now the guys go for 4 months. You never stop learning when you get out of the academy. Hope this helps you a little and good luck.

3. meshmdz

meshmdz OBAMA 2012

thanks you sir

4. Pa Glock guy

Pa Glock guy