Question about wireless routers

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ysr_racer, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. ysr_racer

    ysr_racer

    Messages:
    11,133
    Likes Received:
    6,381
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Location:
    Happily in So. Cal.
    Newbe here,

    If I turn off my "broadcast SSID" how will my laptop see my router? How can I connect if I can't see it?
     
  2. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,818
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    You manually enter the SSID in the connection settings of your wireless adapter instead of selecting it from the list of detected networks.
     

  3. Ljunatic

    Ljunatic On The Fringe

    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    OR you can turn it off after you are all set up
     
  4. ysr_racer

    ysr_racer

    Messages:
    11,133
    Likes Received:
    6,381
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Location:
    Happily in So. Cal.
    Thanks, that's exactly what I did. I couldn't get the other way to work.

    Thanks for all the help guys.
     
  5. ysr_racer

    ysr_racer

    Messages:
    11,133
    Likes Received:
    6,381
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Location:
    Happily in So. Cal.
    OK, so I changed the password on the router. Changed the SSID name, turned off "SSID broadcast", and set up a WPA logon.

    What else do I need to do?
     
  6. BLiTzNicK

    BLiTzNicK Silent Member

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Location:
    Detroit
    Restrict access by MAC address. Beyond that, there's not much more to worry about as a home user.
     
  7. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,818
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    You could give the router some bizzare subnet and turn off DHCP.