Question about VAMC elegability

Discussion in 'Veteran's Forum' started by MADISON, Dec 7, 2005.

1. MADISON

MADISON Millennium Member

After being told I am a Veteran...
    I have never had to go to our Veteran's Hospital[VAMC]for treatment. There are restrictions on who can be treated. I'm on MEDICARE, parts A & B.
    What would I have to do to register/see if I could receive medical benefits?

2. cadillacguns

cadillacguns Millennium Member

Simply write a letter to your local Veterans Affairs Regional office, Include your name, service number, dates of service, and request to be seen by your local VAMC, new appointments are seen in 30 days.

3. actionpup

actionpup Psycho Pup!

Call the VAMC and ask for an application. They will mail it to you; fill it out and the mail it back. You will receive a notice of your first appointment by mail.

4. Mogasatator

Mogasatator

I think you can walk in at anytime with your dd Form 214 and register. There are priorities though. 100 percent disabled and so on. If you have insurance or NOT, the VA can give you care...Good luck

5. BadLight

BadLight Was that a tree

If you are a veteran they will care for you. Just walk in I think you'll be suprised.

Disclaimer I work at the VA... so WE treasure and respect your service. Our mission is to serve those that protect us and we're serious about that.

6. snkirsch

snkirsch Deceased

I am an 100% service-connected disabled veteran. You should have registered at your Veterans Service Office when you got out of the service. As someone who has dealt with the VAMC since 1973, I would advise you to avoid the VAMC like the plague,if possible.

7. BadLight

BadLight Was that a tree