"Push to start"="Load of feces"??

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by filthy infidel, Oct 24, 2010.

1. filthy infidel

filthy infidel 100% Infidel

I used to work for Mercedes-Benz. I was paid to repair and tear down your $100K cars, daily. I loved the training. We always laughed at Lexus because MB invented, troubleshooted, and perfecte what we called 'keyless go'. You kept the card in your wallet. When you touched your car, the electrostatic discharge queried the ECM, which queried the card next to your asscheek. You gained access by pulling the door handle which was already unlocked for you.

So Lexus and others boast this button, but as a tech I always found this a task. With my key, I unlocked as I approached the car, stuffed my groceries in, and inserted then started the car, as I have done since I was sixteen years old.

Car ads push this stupid 'start' button hard, but to me, it's a change of habit and yet ANOTHER step in the process to drive.

You likey, or not?

2. samuse

samuse

I don't really even care if I have power windows and locks. I didn't have a/c in a truck until I was 21.

My next truck is going to have vinyl everything, manual everything. The only luxury I want next time is an automatic transmission. I'm sick of my six-speed in city traffic.

3. Mr. Gekko

Mr. Gekko

No likey. I prefer simple instead of "convenient." Just another thing to break in my eyes.

4. cwb

cwb

I don't care for them, but I may be a bit old fashioned.

5. camelotkid

camelotkid non-believer

I liked it when it was on some nice cars. The idea that is becoming available on everything makes it less likeable.

6. zigzagg321

zigzagg321 clever quip

I was a tech for BMW for 12 years. Gizmos just leave more to break. I hate car gizmos other than power windows and locks.

7. Flatulence

Flatulence 5X EMU Champion

It WILL break, it WILL cost, and the dealer will make more money.