close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Problems w/ USB Ports

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by hotrodtba, Jun 1, 2005.

  1. hotrodtba

    hotrodtba Jr. Ammo Whore

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    I upgraded my dad's older computer to xp from 98se and now the USB ports don't work. If you plug anything into them, camara, memory stick, mouse, etc., the computer freezes up and you have to restart, even if you unplug the device that you plugged in. The computer is about 5 years old. PIII 667mhz. If you shut the computer down, hook up the device, and then turn on the computer, it works. If I remember correctly, that's the way 98se always worked. What do I need to change to make them work like normal, where you can plug devices in and take them out without turning off the computer. Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Could be the bios.What PC is it?EWhat chipset?The Intel 820 chipset can be troublesome.
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    You might need to update the drivers.I have some XP USB devices that must be turned on before powering the PC but in Win98SE the same devices don't require that.I can plug them with the PC running.
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I remenber correctly the driver get installed and then the device must be powered on for the next restart,then everything works as normal from then on.
     
  5. hotrodtba

    hotrodtba Jr. Ammo Whore

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    The computer manufacture is ABS. I don't know the rest of it.
     
  6. hotrodtba

    hotrodtba Jr. Ammo Whore

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    I've tried that. After the computer was on I unplugged the device and then plugged it back in and it locked up the computer.
     
  7. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    First things first. You need to find out what is INSIDE his PC:

    Install Everest and find out what Motherboard and chipset it is running.

    Put that info here and we'll be able to help.

    BTW, I only see this issue with AMD/VIA systems, so my guess is that you need to install the latest Hyperion 4-in-1 drivers, but it is possible to have this problem with other chipsets, namely SiS.

    Let us know.
     
  8. hotrodtba

    hotrodtba Jr. Ammo Whore

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    My cousin is a computer genius and he thinks the bios are messed up, so we are going to flash them and install new info and see if that helps.
     
  9. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    If it's a VIA chipset good luck. The VIA 4-in-1 may fix it or make it worse. Did you get the serivice pack for XP?
     
  10. hotrodtba

    hotrodtba Jr. Ammo Whore

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    I think it has SP2 on it, but I am not 100% sure.
     
  11. mitchshrader

    mitchshrader Deceased

    Messages:
    8,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Tulsa
    98se runs fine on 128 ram. I've seen it function smoothly on 64.

    I've NEVER seen an XP install work well with less than 256.. long term.

    I won't build an XP computer with less than 512..

    Ram may not be THE issue, but it impacts performance and time-outs to the point that it becomes difficult to diagnose errors when ram is short.

    As you have a PIII, likely your ram is PC100, and very possibly you have 64-192 megs, and you shouldn't have upgraded to XP.

    Flashing the bios is a risky business, even when it works it's not a magic bullet, and it CAN (read, all too often Will) ruin the computer.

    Given the comp is not broken, what I'd do is, reinstall 98se, bump the ram to 256-384, run some tweaks to smooth & secure it, and quit.

    If you want an XP comp, sell/trade that one and build the foundation of hardware that XP was designed to run on.

    Might seem harsh, wasn't meant to. Just realistic. ;g