close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Problem with Panda Titanium A/V

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by MissileCop, Sep 13, 2004.

  1. MissileCop

    MissileCop OCD Baker Millennium Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Location:
    Just north of the "dem"on
    Hopefully, someone here can help me figure this out. I e-mailed Panda on Thursday, and have yet to hear from them.

    For the past few months, I used the Titanium demo with no problem, so decided to buy the whole package. Downloaded it, installed it, and that's when things went bad. Would try to start up computer, and came back with numerous "kernel32.dll invalid page fault" errors. Desktop would not come up at all. Had to boot in safe mode, uninstall Titanium, and then reboot. Once uninstalled, my computer started up fine, and has run with no problems.

    I'm running a Compaq 5660 with Windows 98, with all available 98 updates.

    Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated. I've looked around a bit, but haven't found any answers. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    What else is running in the backround?

    Since windows 98 likes to share .dll's with other applications.

    I dispise windows 98.

    Consider upgrading when you can afford it.
     

  3. MissileCop

    MissileCop OCD Baker Millennium Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Location:
    Just north of the "dem"on
    Actually, I haven't had too many problems with 98. An occasional BSOD, but that's usually when I'm trying to do too much at once. I had been looking to upgrade to Windows XP, but have seen how many problems other people were having with it, so figured I'd wait until the kinks were worked out.

    As for background processes, not too many. Here's a snapshot of what's running right now.
     
  4. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    XP having problems?

    I think it's the best thing since Win95.

    Unless you have a slow computer i wouldn't upgrade.

    I would also has 256mb of memory and at leaset a 1Ghz processor.

    That Sysinternals? What is that copy of some sort of monitoring software?

    it's using 93% of your processes.

    uninstall it and then install your other software.
     
  5. MissileCop

    MissileCop OCD Baker Millennium Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Location:
    Just north of the "dem"on
    That sysinternals is the program used to monitor all the processes. That job process is what created that snapshot. It only runs manually. It's not in msconfig or anything. It just happened to be at 93% at that moment because it was refreshing the screen.

    Slow computer? For what I do with it, it's plenty fast for me. I've been looking to upgrade, but funds are rather tight right now. It's a 450mhz with 384 mb of RAM. Webpages load in a snap with a cable modem, I can surf and play music at the same time. I can usually have multiple programs running when I'm doing various photo edits.

    I just have to figure out the .dll problem. I unchecked all the non-essential stuff in the startup, but still came up with the same problem. May have to uncheck stuff one by one until I find the culprit. Ah, what the hell, I'm up for a night of cursing and swearing. ;f
     
  6. Alchemy

    Alchemy Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,229
    Likes Received:
    2,439
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon..
    Missile I'm more inclined to go along with what Ninja had to say.
    I run Panda Platinum on XP and have not had any problems. I also
    would shut down as many running applications that I have running
    when doing the installation. BTW Panda is notorious for poor
    tech support, and have know people that have ****canned Panda's
    antivirus and firewall for just that reason. Fortunately I've
    had nothing but good luck with their product, and have never needed
    the use of their tech support.
     
  7. fatlander

    fatlander Comrade

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Location:
    somewhere in the mediterranean
    perhaps the black ice firewall is interfeering with panda?
    I've known the panda to cause some trouble from one installation to another, have you tried again since you uninstalled it?