Problem...my TV has "locked up"

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by DAKA, Nov 10, 2019.

  1. flyover

    flyover

    Messages:
    11,685
    Likes Received:
    30,735
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Location:
    Western Kansas
    Sound like your receiver is giving up the ghost. When dad had the D-TV it would do this.
     
  2. kirgi08

    kirgi08 Watcher. Silver Member

    Messages:
    39,154
    Likes Received:
    8,451
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    Acme proving grounds.
    No you don't,you have movie screens.'08.
     
    G30SF/F-250 likes this.

  3. as400guy1

    as400guy1

    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    7,969
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Neither do communists....
     
    G30SF/F-250 likes this.
  4. jmohme

    jmohme

    Messages:
    8,476
    Likes Received:
    13,580
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Bastrop Texas
    I guess that even communists get something right once in a while.
     
    treg and Inyo Tim like this.
  5. Inyo Tim

    Inyo Tim Senior Moment

    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    7,318
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Location:
    Eastern Sierra Nevada, Calif.
    Mid August the local cable company (only one) pulled the plug on all but a few LA channels. I go to their office to see what the problem was. They said they were switching to streaming and I needed to sign up for a package for $20 a month more and buy a $120 Roku to get service again. I told them no, but kept the internet. I haven't missed the TV a bit.
     
    pizza_pablo and treg like this.
  6. Von Hayes

    Von Hayes

    Messages:
    4,175
    Likes Received:
    4,471
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    peng and flyover like this.
  7. DoubleWide

    DoubleWide

    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Are you using an app or does it do it no matter what? When was the last update? I don't trust mine to connect to the internet on its own. It sounds like overheating if it's not a particular app
     
  8. quantico

    quantico 1911 lover Millennium Member

    Messages:
    8,037
    Likes Received:
    4,565
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Did youf internet / wireless wifi stay working ?
     
  9. Otto Pistol

    Otto Pistol

    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    282
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Back in the day (about 1976) I bought a Sony Trinitron, at the time the zenith (ha ha) of television hardware.

    About 1983, it started acting up: a black blob would form on the screen and eventually cover the entire picture area. Turn it off, turn it on would be OK for awhile. I put up with this sporadic problem for a couple of months because I did not want to spend the money for a new one. Then it went way all of a sudden, and the set was good for several more years.

    Go figure.

    But unplugging for a few minutes has fixed all my other TV problems. And agree with checking for updates.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2019
    tuica and pizza_pablo like this.
  10. gatorboy

    gatorboy ( . Y . )

    Messages:
    8,033
    Likes Received:
    5,154
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Location:
    It's pretty nice
    Unplug, wait ten seconds, plug back in.
     
  11. G30SF/F-250

    G30SF/F-250 Pinky Out Platinum Member

    Messages:
    55,002
    Likes Received:
    116,743
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    PA to LA to NY to FL to IL to VA to GA to OH to FL
    Have you tried yelling at it?
     
    FullClip and pizza_pablo like this.
  12. snerd

    snerd Horselover Fat

    Messages:
    27,691
    Likes Received:
    36,022
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    Oklahoma!
    Oh Lord, won't you buy me a color TV,
    Dialing for Dollars is trying to find me.............
     
    peng and G30SF/F-250 like this.
  13. as400guy1

    as400guy1

    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    7,969
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Exactly what a commie would say
     
    G30SF/F-250 likes this.
  14. DAKA

    DAKA

    Messages:
    6,978
    Likes Received:
    8,632
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    125 mi N of the S most USA point FFL
    Musta' been a problem on THEIR end, it's working now...:noevil:
     
    tuica likes this.
  15. G30SF/F-250

    G30SF/F-250 Pinky Out Platinum Member

    Messages:
    55,002
    Likes Received:
    116,743
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    PA to LA to NY to FL to IL to VA to GA to OH to FL
    I feel so much better now.
     
    pizza_pablo likes this.
  16. nmk

    nmk

    Messages:
    8,302
    Likes Received:
    1,646
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    What does "locked up" mean? Kinda hard to diagnose with a description like that.
     
    pizza_pablo likes this.
  17. treg

    treg

    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    3,248
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    W. MI
    Now the problem is on YOUR end.
     
  18. inthefrey

    inthefrey Moved on...

    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Location:
    The Nearest Parallel Dimension
    Your internet connection (wifi) is causing your problem.

    Change the position of your WiFI antennas (if applicable) or, if it's a wired connection, maybe get a new router.


    Sounds like it's not a TV problem at all.

    Try this link on your PC.
    http://speedof.me

    See if you have a dropped packets.
     
  19. cbthedookie

    cbthedookie

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Depending on the make, you can hold the power button down for 10 seconds or so to reboot / reset to factory settings.

    I have a Sony TV running Android which freezes on occasion; unplugging is tough due to wall mount. Resetting via remote seems to do the trick.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  20. BigBluefish

    BigBluefish

    Messages:
    4,267
    Likes Received:
    9,121
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    Ha.

    Turned mine on at breakfast, can't change the channel with either remote. Gives me an error message ... "having trouble connecting to the in internet..."

    Well, I would think so, it's cable.

    But, Netflix & Amazon Prime, which are off the Internet via WiFi do work?

    Excuse me?