close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

posting irregualrities

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Alchemy, Sep 14, 2004.

  1. Alchemy

    Alchemy Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon..
    I hope that this is the appropriate forum for this post. If not
    here it is anyway. When I type a post, reguardless of the form
    that I use to type it in, it becomes posted, in may I say, a jumbled
    mess. I may use paragraphs, or several sentences and then a space,
    but when it get's posted on the board for all too see, it's all
    jumbled in a different form that I typed it in. This seems to
    happen about 99% of the time. It did the same with my last computer
    also. So my question is this, is this problem coming from my
    end or is GT's computer to blame?. I see many other posts being
    posted in the form that the person typed them in, but as a general
    rule mine don't. This post was typed in block form w/o paragraphs,
    let's see how it finally appears on the board?
     
  2. Alchemy

    Alchemy Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon..
    Would'nt you know it, it came out just as I typed it. This is the exception rather than the rule though. So my original question
    still stands.
     

  3. Harlequin

    Harlequin I need a weapon

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    East Central Indiana
    It would help considerably if we knew what browser you are using.
     
  4. Alchemy

    Alchemy Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon..
    Internet explorer & Windows XP. If you will notice that my last post
    has now changed. Under "original question" is now "still stands"
    They were both written in one sentence with no reason for "still
    stands" to be under "original question"
     
  5. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    can you give a link to a post you made where it was broken into paragraphs?
     
  6. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
  7. Alchemy

    Alchemy Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon..
    Sorry Dave I can't...I write in the form that suites me at the time, sorry.
     
  8. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,804
    Likes Received:
    2,144
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'd say your hitting return.

    (Like I did above)

    I always just keep typing my message as usual, and let the software decide what goes on what line. If I need to type in separate paragraphs, then I just hit return at the end of the current paragraph to start the next one...

    Only thing I can think of..

    IGF
     
  9. ThinkOfTheChildren

    ThinkOfTheChildren C.E. Moderator

    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2000
    Location:
    USA
    Based on what I've seen of these (and other posts), Alchemy, I'd have to agree with IGF. Don't use the ENTER key when typing posts unless you really want line breaks inserted. The software has its own line break functions so don't worry about word wrap. For example, I'm going to take everything I just typed and copy/paste it, this time hiting ENTER at the end of each line.

    Based on what I've seen of these (and other posts), Alchemy,
    I'd have to agree with IGF. Don't use the ENTER key when
    typing posts unless you really want line breaks inserted.
    The software has its own line break functions so don't worry
    about word wrap. For example, I'm going to take everything I
    just typed and copy/paste it, this time hiting ENTER at the
    end of each line.

    See the difference?
    You don't have to hit ENTER at the end of each line. Just keep typing and only use the ENTER key to insert new line breaks that are required between paragraphs.
     
  10. Alchemy

    Alchemy Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon..
    Thanks for the help guy's. Yes I do use the enter key, but I try not using it in the future and see if it helps. Thanx