Possibly losing my job

Discussion in 'Business Forum' started by Border Bandit 32, Jun 21, 2016.

1. Border Bandit 32

Border Bandit 32

well I am a college educated 47 yr old white guy and I was just told my position at my local hospital may be eliminated
    I am a project manager for the plant ops department

I have a real estate license but I live in a community of about 50k, don't know if I can make a living selling real estate
    I have always been afraid of risk and stuck to salary type jobs

Any advice from some of you guys that have been where I am ???

2. Border Bandit 32

Border Bandit 32

3. OMCHamlin

OMCHamlin

So I am the contractor logistics manager at a smallish Navy base here on the east coast. As of COB 30 June, I will become a free agent, having been laid off due to contract loss. I was picked up on the winning contract, but that was rejected by the government because I don't have a degree. The logistics manager's resume that was originally submitted with the winning proposal (like 11 months ago) showed him as having a degree (bachelors, I think?) and the .gov said "hey, we awarded your company this contract based on these people having these degrees, so any substitutions must be of equal or greater standing"

No advice to give, I took this job right after I retired from the Navy back in '06, and I have never been without a job since 1983 (or actually, a little earlier).

My attitude? Hey, I was looking when I found this job, I'll find another...

n2g likes this.
  4. Vodoun da Vinci

Vodoun da Vinci

I ran a consumer electronics repair outfit for 20 years when that completely dried up and vanished in 1999...I was 44. Found a job in the Audio Visual installation and service industry and have changed jobs 3X between 2000 and 2016. I have my one year review this afternoon and I'm hoping (should get) a $1.50 and hour raise.