Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
3,271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a leaking connection where my sewer main connects to another piece of my sewer main which angles off to the city sewer main.Plumber has to go 4' to 6' to fix it and may have to jump over the other side of the sidewalk and fix that piece also.Quoted me $800-$1200...No higher then that he said.Sounded good to me but what do I know?I truck for a living.
Any plumbers here agree that's a good price?One national chain said $1800-$2500...lol

Thanks for any help!

·
NRA Member
3,238 Posts
That sounds about right if there is a sidewalk to contend with and if they replace all the pipe between the edge of your house and the main at the edge of your property. You could do it yourself to save money but I would advise not to unless you enjoy a lot of hard work digging.

If you have cast iron pipes and your home is over 30 years old you may need more replaced than you think. If you haven't had a complete sewer leak check perfomed now is the time to do it.

Also, your home insurance may pay for this because a leaking sewer is a health risk etc. USAA ended up replacing 100 percent of our sewer pipes. A company named Sandtech which is an under foundation plumbing company dug 3 foot by 4 foot tunnels to the center of our foundation and replaced everything under the slab. My home was built in 1970 and the cast iron had corroded. The leak test showed six different leaks. After the plumbing work was done they packed the tunnels with foundation sand and then with high pressure slurry that hardened like concrete. So, check with your insurance.

sdsnet

·
Banned
3,271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That sounds about right if there is a sidewalk to contend with and if they replace all the pipe between the edge of your house and the main at the edge of your property. You could do it yourself to save money but I would advise not to unless you enjoy a lot of hard work digging.