close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Please explain to me about those huge sights!

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by borntoglock, Nov 5, 2006.

1. borntoglock

borntoglock

I am fairly new to competitive shooting and I just don't get those huge sights. Do they help that much? It almost seems a bit like cheating too. Please educate me.:therapy:

2. ede

ede Bama's Friend

you mean dot sights? yes they help to a degree but they won't make a poor shooter a master or anything like that. if the rules allow them it can't be cheating. if you ever get the chance see if you can take a look with one, or maybe even shoot one.

3. Archangel Mike

Archangel Mike

At very close, gunfighting range; say within about 15 feet, a good experienced shooter draws, fires, and hits more by "muscle memory" than by using the sights.

You get "muscle memory" by learning the PROPER classic 5-step draw stroke and then practice, practice, practice.

When I used to do "dry fire" practice (NO AMMO in the ROOM, let alone in the gun!) I would face my dry-fire target and, as I started the 5-step draw, I would close my eyes. After the gun was up and I had dropped the striker, I would open my eyes and see where the sights ended up in relation to the intended point of aim. I would then make adjustments in stance, etc., until I was pretty much on it every time. Then I would practice, practice, practice that. To this day I can still pretty much draw, fire and hit at close range without actully "seeing" the sights, although I want to stress that I still DO bring the gun up to the sight line.

The sights come more into use as the range extends. At extended distance, the "big dot" sights lose the precision you need to hit at those ranges.

All in all, the best sights are the popular "Patridge" sight picture sights that are just about standard on every gun, for good reason.

They work.