Glock Talk banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone I’ve been reloading for a couple years now and I’ve never came across this before. I have worked up 180 grain precision delta bullets using 8.0 grains of Longshot and Cci large pistol primers with no issues until today. I finally ran out of my 2000 Cci primers and used Remington large pistol because it’s all I could find. I fired the first one of them today and noticed like it pierced the primer? Thinking it was a fluke I fired one more out of a different gun Glock 20 and 29 and same result so I stopped. Any ideas
Wood Font Circle Metal Symmetry

·
Registered
39,009 Posts
Not all primers are the same. I have found RP primers softer than cci. Just a thought.

·
Registered
8,239 Posts
What era are those RP primers? The Rem 2 1/2 primers I've used have all been nickel like CCI.

Reactions: 835mag

·
Registered
8,239 Posts
View attachment 1097012
Bought at Sheels this June so new I think. Not 5 1/2 but 2 1/2.
That's right. Duh. Got going faster than my brain. I fixed my post.

New production, it seems, and obviously something changed. I'm with Fred in that they might just be soft or thin cups.

I've never had such issues, but mine were produced prior to the production stoppage.

I wouldn't continue to shoot them since gas cutting could be happening. Or try reserving for modest pressure loads and see if they work ok.

·
Registered
319 Posts
I look at the picture of your brass and notice that only some of the primers are pierced- it's not consistent.
I don't use Longshot, so I don't have an opinion about your load. My first thought however was mentioned above- are the Remmy primers running hotter than your CCI's?
Second thought would be your powder charging process. Do you use a powder dropper, a scoop, a digital dispenser/scale combo? The fact that only some primers pierced is a clue there.