close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Picture Downsizing

Discussion in 'Through-the-Lens Club' started by oldfella, Jul 6, 2004.

  1. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    I must admit (and have no problem with it) that I'm not the brightest star in the photo editing universe- maybe because I'm an old foggy and don't understand these new camera contraption. The most irritating thing, for me, is not being able to downsize a picture. I have MS Picture-It, HP Photo Imaging, and Photobucket; and have downloaded and discarded a few other programs. What I need is a bright person to show-and-tell me how to go about downsizing a picture, in dummy language. My camera is an Olympus Camedia C-4040Zoom, 4.1 megaPix... much too complicated for me.... any volunteers? Thanks,

    Pete - The "Oldfella"
     
  2. Spen84107

    Spen84107

    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    SLC, UT

  3. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    For simple tasks I recommend Irfanview. You can download it from here - it's freeware.

    To downsize in Irfanview, once you open the picture, press Ctrl-R and specify new size. Then press Alt-F, then S, specify new name and save.
     
  4. Dragline

    Dragline

    Messages:
    5,081
    Likes Received:
    3,275
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    Coastal SC
    I have MS Picture It, although I have never used it since I have Photoshop. So I decided to open an image in Picture It just to see if I could answer your question. But for the life of me, (and after only a quick check of the program) I can't see where in the heck the resize option is. It looks like you can do 90 million other things to your images with it, but how they want you to resize it remains a mystery to me.
    Maybe if I get more time I'll figure it out.

    In the meantime oldfella, what are you physically doing with the images from your camera? How are you getting them from the camera to the computer? And where and how are you storing and filing them?
     
  5. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    HwyHobo - I tried the program you suggested and couldn't do any thing with it.

    Dragline - I've tried to downsize one of the photos from my album to show it on another forum board.. its too big and no matter what I do it still too big. To downsize, crop, etc in MS Picture-It, click on an image from your pictures in MS Picture it; on the left panel, click on "Change Page"- there you can resize, crop, etc. I tried to downsize in inches and pixels and still can't do it.

    this is what I get:

    http://www.tullatalk.us/oldfella/squirrels01.jpg

    Hummm - not too bad this time, but still too big
     
  6. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Could you be more specific? Did Ctrl-R not work for you? I just tried it here with a new download... works like a charm. Hm.
     
  7. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    HwyHobo - I couldn't download my picture from my files; tried ctrl-r and all else I thought of... I think I'm a lost cause. Thanks any way.
     
  8. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    There are no lost causes. Since you need to download the pictures, I take it they are not located on your local hard drive. Until you download them, you couldn't process them in Irfanview. Where are they located now? On a website? In your camera?
     
  9. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    HwyHobo - my pictures are located on my hard drive, in "My Documents" + "My Pictures". I can get them from there or from my album in "MS Picture-It"

    DragLine - Sorry I did not answer your last question: I download my pictures via a USB port into my "MS Picture-It" album, which becomes part of "My Pictures" in "My Documents".

    Pete
     
  10. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Aha. That should not be too bad, then. You can do it two ways:

    Number ONE
    <ol>
    <li>Open Irfanview
    <li>Go in Windows Explorer to where your pictures are located (My Pictures)
    <li>Drag the selected picture on top of the opened Irfanview window and drop it. Picture should open up within Irfanview.
    <li>Press Ctr-R, type in new size. Click OK (or Apply, or whatever it may be -- I am not in front of my Windows computer).
    <li>Press Alt-F, then S, type in new filename, hit enter.
    </ol>
    Number TWO
    <ol>
    <li>Open Irfanview
    <li>Press Alt-F. Select Open. Navigate to the area on the disk where your pictures are located (My Pictures). Select picture you want to open. Hit enter. Picture should open up within Irfanview.
    <li>Press Ctr-R, type in new size. Click OK (or Apply, or whatever it may be -- I am not in front of my Windows computer).
    <li>Press Alt-F, then S, type in new filename, hit enter.
    </ol>
     
  11. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    Thanks, HwyHobo - I've printed your instructions and will try it tomorrow... will let you know. I appreciate staying with on this.

    Pete
     
  12. nipperwolf

    nipperwolf

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    284
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    I recently found the easiest way to downsize, and it was already in my computer.

    open pic in "paint"

    click "image"

    click "sretch/skew"

    enter reduced percentages(keeping both the same) in the horizontal and vertical.

    example, for a 1600x1200 pic, enter 40%, and it becomes a 640x480.
     
  13. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    HwyHobo - InfraView doesn't work for me: the picture doesn't drag and "My Pictures" do not open (1st & 2nd options). I'm going to leave there.

    NipperWolf - The paint thing, after fooling a bit with it, seems to work. I'm going to try that system on future pictures.

    Thanks, both of you.

    Pete (The Oldfella)
     
  14. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Can you describe what happens when you try to drag a picture? I haven't seen the symptoms you are describing and would like to figure out what is happening regardless of the Irfanview thing.
     
  15. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    HwyHobo - When attempting to drag you see the "can't do" symbol - a circle with a slash in center.

    on the second option go to file (Alt-F), click "Open", select "My Pictures" and I get a bank window.

    After fooling with "File" (Alt-F) I notice it's calling for a source to acquire from - either Scanner, Web Cam, or camera.. nothing from an existing file/album. Based on these findings I think that "Infraview" is not designed to work on pictures already on file.
     
  16. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Alt-F - A is "Acquire". I use Irfanview regularly, I assure you it works nicely with pictures on file.

    As to the rest of the symptoms you have described, I am a bit at a loss. What operating system are you using? Windows XP? I am wondering if there is anything related to permissions that may be causing you headaches. Are there any Win XP/2000 experts lurking on this forum who could address this problem?
     
  17. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    HwyHobo - I have WinXP... and BTW, "ALT-F" is a shortcut for "File" - at least it is on WinXp. Click on "File", after that use "ALT-F" and you'll see what I mean.

    I have been fooling with my MS Picture-It program, and I think I finally found how to go about downsizing. I'll have to refine the technique using both inches and pixels.

    Thanks for your help.

    Pete (The Oldfella)
     
  18. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Yes, I agree about Alt-F. Notice I mentioned "Alt-F - A" as "Acquire". Sometimes people instinctively use that combination for "Save As", but that's not what it stands for in Irfanview (which was an unfortunate choice in my opinion). I thought that's what might have happened to you.
     
  19. Dragline

    Dragline

    Messages:
    5,081
    Likes Received:
    3,275
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    Coastal SC
    Ok Pete, here is something to consider for storing and filing images.
    Or at least, it's what I do and has been working great for me for the past three years.

    I'll make a folder on my C drive. Call it whatever you want. You have an Olympus camera, let's say you call it "Olympus Pics".
    Within that folder create new folders for every new subject or event.

    For instance:

    Day at the beach
    Joe's birthday party
    Grandson Frankie
    Fluffy
    Spot (all my pets have their own folders)
    New car
    Backyard flowers
    Big blizzard
    etc., etc.
    All pics with those subjects get put in their own folder.

    Then...when the main file starts to get close to 700MB, I burn it to a CD, delete it (eventually) off my drive to save space, and start all over agian with a new main folder adding subjects as I go.
    If I do go to an event or away for a weekend where I took lots of pics and that folder alone is 300-400MB, it gets it's own seperate folder on the C Drive, then copied to CD with another large folder whenever that comes up.

    Why do this?

    Say 2 years from now you want to find that pic of cousin Kenny from Joe's party. If all your images are all lumped together, you could take forever to find it. But if instead, all you have to do is flip through a few (dated and properly labled CD's) finding it will be a snap.
    Well...that is until you have a few dozen CD's. ;) :)

    Have fun.
     
  20. oldfella

    oldfella

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    Tullahoma, TN
    Thanks, Dragline, I'll try that. Right now all of the pictures I download from my camera, emails. scanner or webcam go into "My Pictures" (C Drive) - then they become part of my "MS Picture-It" album, I can see them all in thumb-nail size; so, actually I have no problems identifying them.

    BTW - I'm learning how to downsize using the various photo programs. Again, Thanks.

    Pete (The Oldfella)