picked up my first glock today, hits high, who makes taller front sites?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by cutlass1972, Apr 19, 2007.

1. cutlass1972

cutlass1972

So I pick up my first glock today, a gen 2 17. So I get home ad do some shooting. It is hitting WAY high at 25 yds. I was shooting at a bowling pin and having to "set the bowling pin on the top of the front site" just to get it to hit, and I got a much better hit ratio if I pulled about 6" below that.

I am new to glocks, but not new to pistol shooting, so I know that either the front site is going to have to be taller or the rear site lower

with a quick stroll through the glock accessory sites, I see that there are a lot of after market sites, but none that are graduated in any way.

I REALLY want to stick to "fixed" combat style sites, so the adjustable sites are out of the question.

2. Joe D

Joe D Guest

I would let someone else shoot your gun before I changed anything.

3. Steve Koski

Steve Koski Got Insurance? Millennium Member

Hey, I was gonna say that!

4. G. Gunman

G. Gunman Draw Varmint!

:upeyes: Doesn't sound right! Hurt your wrist lately? How many pistols have you fired, before, that have a trigger safety?

Suggest you support your wrists and shoot with your elbows on the bench top. (Like over the top of your range bag.) See if this helps.

Like Joe D. said, 'Give someone else a chance to shoot your G-17; see how he does.'

(Many shooters think that Glocks tend to shoot low.) ;)

5. D. Manley

D. Manley

I agree it would be a good idea to have someone else shoot the weapon and even "bench it" to be sure. That said, what you describe is a huge POA vs POI difference. As far as sights go, Ameriglo has a a huge number of heights available and a sight-calculator that can help but to be effective, you need to nail down the specifics:

1) Inches high or low
    2) Shooting distance measured in feet
    3) Gun Model

http://www.ameriglo.net/