PC Games- How to Smooth Them Out?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Glockerel, Mar 27, 2007.

  1. Glockerel

    Glockerel Got Mojo?

    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Nassau and Salzburg, Austria
    I have Ultimate Hunting 4. It's a hoot. At work, I run it on an IBM Think Centre w/Pentium 4.
    At home I have a new Compaq w/ Intel Dual Core ViiV Tecnology. My home computer has gobs of space. At home, the movements are a little jerky and the mouse moves are sometimes exagerated.
    Is there anything I can do to make my home unit run smooth like the IBM?
    Thanks!
     
  2. chbix

    chbix

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    Reno NV
    check video settings, perhaps go down in resolution, or lower some settings. How do the 2 computers compare? Does one have a better video card? More ram, etc?

    I have always been a fan of the game playing smoothly than getting the ad to run at full resolution and high detail.
     

  3. Toyman

    Toyman

    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Location:
    West Michigan
    1. Uninstall/disable all the crap that came preinstalled on the Compaq and runs at at start up.

    2. Get a better video card.
     
  4. Wingnut357

    Wingnut357 Killer Casual

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Location:
    Miami
    Could be some Dual Core optimization is mucking things up. WinXP has the ability to run individual programs using a single core, so you might try that.
    Worked for Call of Duty 2, but they eventually patched it so that Dual Cores would work as they should.
     
  5. malkore

    malkore

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    I'd also look in the game settings for something about 'hardware mouse'. see if enabling/disabling it helps your mouse movement.

    any frame loss in the video is likely video RAM or motherboard RAM being insufficient.
     
  6. chbix

    chbix

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    Reno NV
    Look at what else is running....I find that nothing beats a performance boost than a fresh OS install. but thats not always practical

    Also check for updated drivers and updates for the game

    some systems just cant run certain games well with out upgrades or some not at all.
     
  7. TheDVDMan

    TheDVDMan

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    NE Indiana
  8. Glockerel

    Glockerel Got Mojo?

    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Nassau and Salzburg, Austria
  9. TheDVDMan

    TheDVDMan

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    No problem! You get it working ok?
     
  10. danielackerman

    danielackerman

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    texas

    agreed