Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Rational
14,582 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The world's largest living organism is collapsing. Scientists think it's the fault of Humans.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/science...-clone-utah-collapse/10383562?section=science

"Basically in a single sentence, Pando is failing and humans are at the centre of the failure, because humans control the browsers," Dr Rogers said.
Not sure I agree with this quote, but what are your thoughts on this?

Is the State of Utah to blame for not introducing a predator species to control the deer?

Discuss.

·
Registered
13,034 Posts
Deer populations can be adequately managed by hunters without the need to reintroduce an extirpated apex predator.

That my official opinion, but I'm a mere student of the science. Funny this topic should arise - I'm a grad student and ine of my courses this term is large mammal conservation and management. I'll bring this up to our professor and see where the discussion goes.

He did some research involving trophic cascades in Yellowstone where elk were causing damage in a similar fashion. I'd imagine he's in favor of predator reintroduction, but Utah is isn't as sparsely populated as Montana. Reintroduction of any extirpated species always causes controversy among a variety of stakeholders and should be examined thoroughly prior to any action being undertaken.

I would recommend increased deer harvest within the area in question. Perhaps incentives for hunters, such as bonus antlered deer or increased antlerless quotas.

Again, I'm not a resource manager (yet), so mine is an inexperienced opinion. I do have a bit of education in the topic, but don't presume to tell others how to do a job I've never attempted.

·
Rational
14,582 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Deer populations can be adequately managed by hunters without the need to reintroduce an extirpated apex predator.