close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Out-of-Box Accuracy of Armscor 1911

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by revo, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. revo

    revo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gentlemen :

    Can you let me know what your experiences are with out-of-the-box Armscor 1911 accuracy ?

    I bought an Armscor 1911 high-cap a few years ago in California and it shot very very low from day one - like two feet low.

    It took a barrel change and significant work from a gunsmith to make it shoot in the black at 25 yards.

    I think mil-spec standard of accuracy is at most 2.5 inches at 25 yards.

    The trigger was also grossly off spec. You had to pull it all the way back for the hammer to engage.

    The gunsmith told me that all the internal measurements were geometrically off spec so he had to do some tweking to make things work and also had to shave off almost half of the front sight to bring the point of impact up.

    Has out-of-the-box quality improved these days ?
     
  2. jimbullet

    jimbullet

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australasian Hub
    The 1911 armscor that I have has great accuracy, 1 to 1 1/2 inch groups out at 20 yards. Not bad for an out of box. The problem was all internals, frame is definitely off specs thus upgrading it require tremendous labor work for a gunsmith to do. However I ended up not tinkering with the internals since it shot really good. To top it off, it was bushing type and not bull barreled and yet the slide, bushing and barrel fitted very excellent.
     

  3. batangueno

    batangueno Shock Resist

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Armscor has an army of gunsmiths hand fitting their pistols. Your pistol probably got worked on by one of their inexperienced 'smiths. :)
     
  4. TTPower

    TTPower

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    philippines
    i had an armscor commander before and it was really accurate out of the box. impact was at point of aim. i just replace the trigger and had a trigger job. But when i replaced the front site with a fiber optic sight it wasnt that accurate anymore. now i'm planning to get a hi-cap 40cal armscor :cool:
     
  5. batangueno

    batangueno Shock Resist

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    After changing the front site it wasn't accurate anymore? I don't know if that can affect accuracy, maybe your gun just wasn't zeroed because of the new front site.
     
  6. TTPower

    TTPower

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    philippines
    ooops forgot to mention.. my rear sight was a novak fixed sight :) and the fiber optic was i bit taller compared to the original front sight.:rollsmiley:
     
  7. mtho

    mtho

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    so that would make you shoot low, but it should still group well if its group well before you just need a smaller front sight or offset your aim a bit. you smith should have consulted you while fiting the front sight and have you fire a few shots before finishing.
     
  8. Allegra

    Allegra

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
     
  9. mc_oliver

    mc_oliver

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    Paano Master A? Baka pede ko i-translate sa cmore yan kasi tuwing nag zi-zero ako ng cmore isang daang bala nauubos ko.
     
  10. Allegra

    Allegra

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines

    Put the gun on a vice , remove firing pin , make silip sa loob thru the channel , the breech and out the barrel
    Kung san sya nakatapat , dun mo izero yung sights mo ( I guess ikaw na pumili ng distance )
    I think it would work sa dots
     
  11. TTPower

    TTPower

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    philippines
    si tony pascual gumawa e. he dint even inform me na iba yung height ng fiber optic and the original front sight. sana pinabawasan ko muna :frown:
     
  12. isuzu

    isuzu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North America
    It's not the gun. It's the new front sight that is giving you problems with accuracy. If you have your original front sight, have it measured and get a new one installed. Or, install a Bo-Mar rear sight so that you can zero your pistol with a wide variety of loads.
     
  13. mtho

    mtho

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    yung tanung ko sa kanya nung pumunta ako dun, kung saan izezero yung sights?
     
  14. jasonub

    jasonub

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    ready made na siguro ang front sight kaya salpak na lang. thats why if i need something done correctly i go to reputable smiths
     
  15. mc_oliver

    mc_oliver

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    Ay oo nga. Kaso mabigat yata yung vise dalhin sa range, at bibili pa ako. :supergrin: Thanks.
     
  16. 9MX

    9MX Rei!

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shooting
    vise as in c-clamp? i have one! kaso pano natin imomount? on a piece of thick wood?

    o ayan mco, sagot ko ang vise, ikaw bahala magmount (if you want)

    eh vice, (e.g. yosi)gusto niyo?:supergrin:
     
  17. Allegra

    Allegra

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines

    bakit dadalin sa range? you dont need to shoot it

    Havent done it personally malamang masira ko pa yung baril, I just watched Noli Mertillo d it on my gun sa shop nya
    When I fired it sa range , zero nga :)
     
  18. SMBeerDealer

    SMBeerDealer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, UK
    Ganyan din ginawa namin ni Tigra nung nag-zero kami ng rifles namin. Look thru the barrel and find an aiming point then move your sights til what you see thru the barrel is the same as what you see in your sights. At 25m 6 rounds lang pinutok zero na. :cool:
     
  19. gundog

    gundog senior gunner

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    QC
    zero.....ask capt tuliao~~~ np!!!:supergrin:
     
  20. isuzu

    isuzu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North America
    Bore sighting is quite effective if you really know how to do it. You may hit the target on the first try, and if you don't, only minor adjustments are required.

    Peeping through the firing pin channel is what you normally do in a 1911; the common practice is peeping though the barrel of the fiream, hence the term bore sighting.