close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Other competitions...

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by table, Aug 12, 2011.

1. table

table

so i have shot at a GSSF event prior using my G26. i plan on purchasing a G17 in the next month for my comp/range gun. what other comps can i use a fairly stock G17 in? i am new to competition shooting and really enjoy GSSF but not always that many within driving distances. thanks.

2. gary newport

gary newport

You can use your G17 in IDPA (Standard Service Pistol) and USPSA (Production), to name a couple of popular action-shooting competitions.

3. ede

ede Bama's Friend

NRA Action Pistol which is very similar to GSSF. you could use a G17 in all USPSA divisions except Single Stack and Revolver however you'd be at a disadvantage not making major PF in all but Production, IDPA SSP, Steel Challenge would also be a good match for a G17. With few exceptions a G17 will fit in any shooting competition.

4. table

table

looks like i'll have to do a lot of reading and researching. as i have mentioned in other posts, i plan on buying a 17 for range/comp shooting. there is only one GSSF shoot in my area and the other 2 listed are 4.5 and 7.5 hours away. so am not sure i can make those and 3 a year available doesn't seem like much if i can make all of them. so i wanted to see what else is near me through out the next year.

5. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

Check out the schedules at outdoor ranges in your region. Some clubs have an event every weekend.

6. ron59

ron59 Bustin Caps

IDPA and USPSA are prevalent in lots of places. I shoot 2 USPSA and 1 IDPA a month, could shoot more if I wanted.

www.idpa.com
    www.uspsa.com

If you search around on there, they both have links where you can find places in your state that shoot the matches.

7. table

table