Ordered Another Press

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Taterhead, Mar 22, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Taterhead

Taterhead

Well, the other day, I said that if I ever got another single stage press it would be the Forster Co-Ax. Great looking press. I changed my mind. I didn't go Co-Ax although I still think it would be terrific.

I have been eyeballing the Summit press for a few years, thinking it would be a nice press to rig a portable setup. There are also other features that seem appealing like the open access. It seems very well built. I'd done some shopping this month so with the RCBS rebate and a nice Midway sale, it is $92 to my door. Hard to pass that up.

For a portable setup I like that it is a design that doesn't try to roll the bench over. I'm thinking of a table that can hook to a trailer hitch. I've also been thinking about a setup for a powder dispenser that has a wind barrier. There are some closer ranges, but my preferred is almost an hour away, and I've often wished for a press while at the range.

I also ordered the short handle and an accessory base plate. I don't have room on my bench for 3 presses, so the base plate will let me quickly swap the Rock Chucker with the Summit. While the spent primer catch thingy looks a little cheap, I like that primer goo doesn't get all over the ram. I will probably retrofit with this setup [EDIT: I ordered this]:

http://entirelycrimson.com/SumSPC.html

My Rock Chucker is indispensable, and it certainly will not be retired. Heck, who knows if I will like the Summit. It has certainly been a polarizing design, but overall reviews are pretty favorable.

Now I have 3 RCBS presses. I didn't set out to be all green, but it just kind of worked out that way.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 23, 2018
    HAMMERHEAD, Wizzz, dudel and 4 others like this.
  2. WeeWilly

WeeWilly

Nice, looking forward to the full review.

crockett likes this.

3. MO Fugga

MO Fugga Malt Liqra® Lifetime Member