Opinions on Suzuki Boulevard M50 (used to B Marauder 800)

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by freakshow10mm, Sep 7, 2005.

1. freakshow10mm

freakshow10mm 10mm Advocate

Well I am still very new to motorcycles. I have ridden every chance I get since I got my endorsement in July. I am looking at possibilities for a first "real" bike- one that I will ride for many many years; not a learner bike like mine right now (see sig line). Riding my cycle and getting a feel for the roads and turns up here, I think I can accurately judge a good cycle that will give me many years of happy riding, be reliable, easy to handle- not overwhelming at all, and be easy on the wallet, with a decent selection of some basic accessories (saddle bag supports, decent 13-15" windshield, grips; stuff like that).

This is mainly a commuter (work/school) and pleasure cruiser making short trips up to 2 hours. Maybe once or twice a year making the 235mi trip to Green Bay to visit family. Reliability is paramount. Ease of maintainance is also important, as I am not mechanically inclined. I can do basic stuff like bulbs, fluids, tire changing, air filter. Most anything else requires my fiance's dad to help me if he has time or have a shop do it. I get frustrated easily with mechanic stuff and like to throw tools to ease the tension.

Pretty straight forward:
    800cc ( 50 cu.in.) or less (don't need anything more for its purpose)
    At least 40mpg (needs to be at least double what my truck gets)
    Less than 550-ish dry weight (low speed manueverability/easier to handle)
    Shaft drive
    Blue as a factory color (my favorite)
    Less than $7000 (pretty firm on that requirement)

I will get new wheels if I get the M50, as I think the blacked out wheels are a little on the ugly side. The rest of the bike is done up nice with a good balance of chrome and blacked out engine.