close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

opinions on in-lines and deer guns?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by Medford4, Feb 6, 2006.

1. Medford4

Medford4 Hired Gun

I recently sold my 7-30 waters contender to my brother for $400. It was one of those made with the rust-proof finish that you can't get barrels for anymore. Being a poor cop, I'm trying to stretch that $400 to get me 2 guns. A good economical 209 in-line muzzle loader, and a good short to medium range repeater for deer. As for the in-lines, I read in a recent article in my American Rifleman mag that CVA makes good low priced guns. I kinda liked the looks of the Kodiak. I'd appreciate any of ya'lls opinions on in-lines, and a handy little repeater. I've got a Sako .300 mag with a Shepard scope for the far away stuff. I'm wanting something really light and handy for the closer stuff. Thanks

2. noway

noway

my opinions; CVA makes a good model on a budget and gear'd for 1st timers.

Where other mfg have that's makes their better (imho once again), the components in the trigger and barrel exterior and sights. The 1st earlier model CVA where prone to have sights that got loose or knock offed or rusting the striker action.

Now with that said, a Kodiak would be great MZL'er for the budget you have. Also don't froget the pawn shops and newspapers for traditions, T/C,knight,etc... you find alot of these for sale after the season when people don't need them any more.

3. gatorfish

gatorfish

with the new Hornady Leverevolution ammo, the 30-30 lever gun (marlin 336 and others) may be the perfect deer rifle. light, fast handling, fast follow-ups. They can be found used for very little money and new are only $250ish.

4. vafish

vafish

Agree with both above.

CVA makes a decent inline.