close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

One Wireless Router for PC and MAC?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by seanmac45, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. seanmac45

    seanmac45 CLM

    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    7,704
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hi;

    I was just asked a question from a mixed race couple (PC for him, MAC for her) that I cannot answer.

    He has Verizon broadband and uses a Dell PC Windows based. She just bought an Apple laptop. When she stays at his place she wants to be able to log on to the web wirelessly.

    Bottom line is; are there any wireless routers that will permit the use of a Windows based PC and an Apple simultaneously? Do they all permit this?

    I don't have a clue because I know nothing about Apple computers. I believe they need different type routers.

    Thanks for any info,

    Sean
     
  2. noway

    noway

    Messages:
    8,735
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Location:
    Davie "Cowboy" , FL

    the wirless router is not prejudice. It works with either PC or MAC.
     

  3. seanmac45

    seanmac45 CLM

    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    7,704
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    thanks very much, I guess I should have known that..........
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,836
    Likes Received:
    2,200
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yeah, just get a reasonably good router.. I doubt most of them have Mac software, so you'll probably have to configure the Mac to connect to the router manually, but it really shouldn't be a problem. I've got Linux and Windows, wired and wireless, on my WRT54G.. No problems

    IGF
     
  5. SevenFifty

    SevenFifty

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    At my house...
    +1 Thats what I use at my office...works perfectly!
     
  6. seanmac45

    seanmac45 CLM

    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    7,704
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thanks again, everyone.
     
  7. costanza187

    costanza187 I like Macs

    Messages:
    7,684
    Likes Received:
    869
    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have a Linksys router... it willl run Mac, Windows, and Linux at the same time.

    My parents have a Belkin it will do the same. No worries there, no reason why it shouldn't work.

    Funny thing about the routers, when my parents got DSL, I ended up using a Mac to set it up. The only computer they have is a Windows XP, with a wireless card and network card. It was a bit frustrating and confusing to try to set up a wireless connection while wired to the network, having to unplug and then check and see if the wireless was working. So I just plugged in the Mac, and fidgeted with the Windows til the wireless started working. Now I can log into their network wireless with Windows, Mac, or Linux.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2009
  8. MavsX

    MavsX The Dude Abides

    Messages:
    3,033
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    mixed race couple ? LOL, that is funny dude.

    Yeah like IGF said. the routers don't care where the signal is being sent from/to. As long as it is 802.11 b/g/n it will work!
     
  9. seanmac45

    seanmac45 CLM

    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    7,704
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thanks again all. Still boggles the mind what a great source of info on ANY topic this board has become for me.
     
  10. manish07

    manish07

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
  11. Stompy

    Stompy

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    Georgia
    The router wil not care what OS is running on the PC's. All it deals with is TCP/IP. Since both computers can access the Internet, they are using IP. (Internet Protocol) So the router will handle both platforms equally well.
     
  12. JimmyN

    JimmyN

    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    Once it comes out of your network adapter and is sent over an ethernet cable or wireless it is in ASCII standard. That is so all systems are compatible and can talk to each other when networking.

    It doesn't matter how the OS deals with that internally, all information passes over the networks using the same 256 ASCII characters. So you can plug Mac, Windows, UNIX, and Linux systems into the same router, or over the internet, and they will all be sending and receiving using the same values for each character.