Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
On the day of your birth death began stalking you
9,825 Posts
Honestly, I think the best thing out there for cleaning a pistol is a ultrasonic cleaner. I bought mine at Harbor Freight for like $30 and it works great. It takes longer to blow the pistol out with a air compressor than it does to clean it now LOL.

·
Registered
1,788 Posts
Fedleo, What solution do you use in the ultra sonic and I assume that you rinse with water and then air blow. I'm a jeweler and have an extra ultra sonic and have been kicking it around on using it to clean my glock so. Any info you add is greatly appreciated

·
Registered
2,028 Posts
I use an ultrasonic on mine. I use a 50/50 mix of water and simple green. Once done I rinse with hot water, dry it out and re-lube. At the most I have to run a brush through the barrel to get some stubborn left overs out.

Reactions: Quade and G19 fan

·
Registered
357 Posts
Ultrasonic is the way to go. Family friend, former police chief’s duty pistol was so nasty it had to through three times. Turned the water pitch black the first two, grey the third. Zero damage to the finish of the pistol.

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
how do these things work ? We were using them at work then all of a sudden we stopped using it and went back to hand cleaning our guns . Makes me wonder why.

Reactions: Glock Commander

·
I'm your huckleberry....
18,108 Posts
Honestly, I think the best thing out there for cleaning a pistol is a ultrasonic cleaner. I bought mine at Harbor Freight for like $30 and it works great. It takes longer to blow the pistol out with a air compressor than it does to clean it now LOL.
What kinda results do you get? Is a "bargain basement" level unit seem durable and/or as good (within reason) of the higher-priced models? I have a HF about 10 miles from me. I might go look at one...

Reactions: Quade

·
9,825 Posts