close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

OMG... It's purple... Ubuntu 10.04 beta1

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by IndyGunFreak, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,778
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Indiana
    Usually, I'm a little more involved in testing new versions of Ubuntu, try to help trouble shoot problems in the support channel, etc., but just haven't had time for the latest release... Well.. given the spate of new Linux users here, I thought I'd take a few days and start looking over the Beta for Ubuntu 10.04(due out in about 2-3 weeks)... Before anyone asks, this was unrelated to my laptop problem(different PC). Ubuntu 10.04 is the latest "LTS"(Long Term Support) release.. which means it will be supported for the next 36mo. Unlike Non-LTS versions, which are supported for 18mo.

    First things first... IT'S NOT BROWN! I nearly fainted. I'd actually started to grow kind of fond of the crap brown theme that Ubuntu always had.. :) It seems Canonical has actually made an effort to make this release a bit more aesthetically pleasing. There's still a limited number of themes and wallpapers, but for the most part, they are all pretty nice. Thankfully, there's gazillions of them to download.

    Comes with pretty much the same software installed, all of them updated to current, stable versions... with a few additions
    Full Open Office 3.2 Suite
    GIMP
    FSpot - Photo Mgmt. software.
    Evolution mail client
    Firefox
    Transmission(torrent client)
    Brasero(disk burner) -- I'm still not sure why they haven't replaced Brasero w/ Gnomebaker... but this is a minor gripe
    Totem Movie Player
    Rythmbox Music Player
    Empathy -- This version, while I still don't care for it over Pidgin, is markedly better than what was out w/ 9.10.
    There's also now a program called "Gwibber".. Looks like some sort of program to update Facebook, Twitter, etc..
    Also new, is some program called PITVI, which is a video editor. I've never heard of it, let alone have any experience with it... so we'll have to tackle that one at a later date. :)

    It's been stable on my main box. I wouldn't recommend anyone actually install it, unless you're prepared to troubleshoot problems. The Release Candidates should be coming out in probably 2 weeks, with the actual Release coming a week or so later.

    Looks like its gonna be pretty solid.
     
  2. dotsun

    dotsun Shark Stomper

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    I'm glad to see the brown go. I hope I find the purple less obnoxious. :supergrin:
     

  3. inthefrey

    inthefrey Moved on...

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Likes Received:
    1,972
    Location:
    Western Pennsylvania
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,778
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Indiana
    It's pretty close.. :). Actually the first thing I thought of, was Barney.
     
  5. aircarver

    aircarver Descent Terminated Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,594
    Likes Received:
    8,528
    Location:
    Ft. Worth, Republic of Texas
    Thanks for the heads-up !

    :thumbsup:


    :supergrin:

    Update: Installed & running.... so far, so good !!....:thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2010
  6. MavsX

    MavsX The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,033
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA

    LMAO hahahaaha
     
  7. area727

    area727 G23

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed 10.04 at work in a VM. So far, not to bad.

    The one thing that I do not like is where they placed the 'X' (to close a window) and the minimize/maximize buttons for the window. They moved it to the left side of the bar, as opposed to the traditional right side.
     
  8. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,778
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm still not sure why they done that....

    Open a terminal(Appliation/Accessories/Terminal)
    type "gconf-editor" w/o quotes and hit enter.
    When the next window comes up,
    In the tree on the left, navigate to apps/metacity/general
    After highlighting General, on the right, Go through the options and find "button layout"
    Right Click Button Layout, and choose Edit...
    Where it says Value, and assuming you want it how Windows is, and how Ubuntu/Linux usually is...
    set value to...
    Code:
    menu:minimize,maximize,close
    Click OK, and the change should be instantaneous.

    IGF
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010
  9. area727

    area727 G23

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great. Thanks for the heads up on changing this. I figured there might be a way, I just havent looked into, but you beat me to it. Many thanks!
     
  10. TBO

    TBO Why so serious? CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    51,754
    Likes Received:
    31,414
    Location:
    1504 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55454
    Tagged for LTS release and button fix.
     
  11. area727

    area727 G23

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    The button fix worked just as described.

    I'm running 9.04 on my machine at home. It took me a while to get the audio, and headphone jacks working properly (I've now forgotten all the steps it took to get it running :whistling:), so I dont know if I will jump right in and upgrade to 10.04 after the official release, and run into the same issues. I do have VMware player running in 9.04 (system has 4GB RAM), so I might play with 10.04 in a VM for a while, work out any kinks, then do the official upgrade...
     
  12. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,778
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Indiana
    I've never "Upgraded" my machines.. I always do a clean install(that's a habit that goes back to my Windows days)... The clean install was gravy, no problems at all...

    To upgrade 9.04, you're going to have to go 9.04 > 9.10 > 10.04... Might be easier to just backup important stuff and clean install 10.04. What's the sound device on your home machine? I know w/ 9.04, there were some issues w/ the Nvidia sound devices(exact name of the chipset escapes me).. I *think* most of that was resolved by 9.10. I've got Intel sound, and it's working well. The only thing that never seems to get resolved, is the internal mic.

    IGF
     
  13. TBO

    TBO Why so serious? CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    51,754
    Likes Received:
    31,414
    Location:
    1504 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55454
    "Clean install" question for dual boot set up.

    Let's take my Windows XP netbook for an example.

    Set to dual boot (partition for XP and one for Linux).

    Now when upgrading to the next version of Linux (fresh install), I take it there is nothing needed to be done in setting up (resetting) the partition for Linux? (no need to use Gparted)?
     
  14. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,778
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Indiana
    Like I said, I don't upgrade, but to my knowledge, thats exactly what it does. When you upgrade, you shouldn't have to partition, etc...

    IGF
     
  15. area727

    area727 G23

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, when I say "upgrade" I mean do a fresh install, with a newer version. Ive never done an "in-line" upgrade, and let the OS upgrade itself.
     
  16. area727

    area727 G23

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    The sound device is Intel HD audio, or something to that effect. I dont have the machine with me at the moment. It was a known issue at the time, and I finally have it figured out. Later versions of Ubuntu might have fixed it, I dont know for sure.
     
  17. area727

    area727 G23

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    When running the install, it will ask you where to install. You'll pick the same partition that the old linux was installed on. It will reformat it with the ext4 file system. After linux installs, it should be fine, and your boot loader should see both OS's to pick from. If for some reason it doesnt, you can boot into the ubuntu Live CD environment, and install Grub (boot loader)...(Ive had to do this a couple times)
     
  18. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,778
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes.. sorry I misunderstod.

    Usually when I'm upgrading/reinstalling, I just go through the install process, and when it comes time to partition, I chooose manua. Then I just choose my old "/" partition, delete it, then create a new partition right in the free space it created. Same mount points, etc..

    Reason I do that, is because I've had the installer see the "old" version of Ubuntu on that partition before, so instead of installing over it, it will actually install "beside" it.. and you'll essentially have a "Triple boot" machine when you're done(in this case, windows, ubuntu 9.04 and ubuntu 10.04). Actually partitioning and what not though, no you won't have to do that.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010
  19. TBO

    TBO Why so serious? CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    51,754
    Likes Received:
    31,414
    Location:
    1504 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55454
    Thanks guys.

    I'm waiting for the stable version of 10.04, then my XP netbook will again be a dual boot machine. :thumbsup:
     
  20. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,778
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Indiana
    It should go smoother this time... I just wouldn't try installing that Windows boot loader, whatever it was... It's not necessary. Just let Linux handle setting up the boot loader.

    I know at first that concerned you.. If it REALLY worries you messing w/ the Windows MBR of the drive.. You can make a backup of the MBR. It's a very small, very easy to use program. It will make a backup and restore a backed up MBR w/ a few simple DOS commands. Obviously, you'd want to do this BEFORE attempting to install Linux.

    Read all about it here..
    http://www.sysint.no/nedlasting/mbrfix.htm

    Download it here...
    http://download.cnet.com/MbrFix/3000-2094_4-10485990.html

    IGF