Okay you boys up north anybody hunt/trap a fisher

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by noway, Sep 16, 2005.

1. noway

noway

Title saids it all. Anybody have any experience in trapping or hunting fisher?

2. Castigliano

Castigliano

I think MN has a limited season on them, but I have no experience.
    My brother shot a mink off the top of a beaver lodge at 100 yards with his peep sighted 30-30 once!

Soo... I have no reason to reply other than I am a northern MN boy.

c

3. j6721

j6721

Where are you from in northern MN. I am from the Iron Range.

Jim

4. randyrat

randyrat

I've never trapped them But I have seen Fisher. What a preditor. I know they go after birds ,feral cats , red tree rats. I wondered what kind of pelt they have.Is there a market for them?

5. Castigliano

Castigliano

J,
    I grew up in Bagley (near Bemidji), however now I reside in west central MN. Still do most of hunting around Bagley and plan to go up this weekend grouse hunting. I hope the frost has taken some leaves down.

Nice to hear from a "ranger"

c

6. scooter12589

scooter12589

Right now I am in Calgary, Alberta. So I don't trap but I am going to spend some of my winters and summers with some trappers. I have known quite a few over the years and sometimes I envy them and others I don't.

7. FPS

FPS

I never hunted or trapped one, but one morning while living in Vermont I heard a ruckus in my basement. I opened the door, flicked on the light and much to my surprise a fisher was in my basement. I slammed the door and locked him down there. He eventually left through the window he came in through.

8. rfb45colt

rfb45colt safe-cracker