close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Off-road rear suspension: Linked vs Unlinked

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by RickD, May 23, 2006.

1. RickD

RickD Pro-Open Curry Millennium Member

The Japanese bikes have linked suspension which appears to soak up bumps rather well. KTM used to have linked suspension, as I recall but now has gone linkless.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both?

Please describe the handling characteristics of the 450 four-strokes from Honda, Yamaha and KTM.

Thanks,

Rick

2. DaisyCutter

DaisyCutter

I'll offer what I believe to be true, though I'm no expert.

The KTM's are a linkless rear suspension design. Historically, the linkage used by the Jap bikes has offered better progressive rate compression. As of 2005 and especially 2006, the KTM's are described as being "as good as" the Jap bikes. Just like the rear shock, the same applies to the forks... the Japs have the better reputation.

FWIW, a better rider will out ride a worse rider on any comparable bike. My two toughest competitor buddies both ride 2001 KTM 300 MXCs... and those shouldn't be able to hold a candle to my 2005 KX250. The fact is that the whole linkage/no-linkage controversy is way overrated.

Arguing which bike has better stock suspension is like arguing which stock Nascar is the fastest. Everyone who can ride worth a damn WILL HAVE THEIR SUSPENSION REVALVED AND RESPRUNG SPECIFICALLY FOR THEIR NEEDS. Even most novice "C" class riders have a custom suspension setup.