Glock Talk banner

Not new to reloading , but new to Glocks

836 Views 18 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  cwall64
I have been reloading for a little while , but I'm new to reloading for Glocks . I would like to know how are stock glock barrels with plated bullets ?
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· DFC, MSM, 12 Air Medals.
10,230 Posts
Been using Xstreme plated bullets in 9mm, 40, 45 acp & gap for over 17 years.

· DFC, MSM, 12 Air Medals.
10,230 Posts
Just make sure you do not over crimp or go wild on fps. The brief testing I did before this trip they shot better than the Delta 124 gr bullets I tried.

· Registered
2,391 Posts
Plated bullets are ok, however sensitive to crimp.

· Cuhootnified Roamer
11,894 Posts
Xtreme plated is what I mostly run through my Glocks. I load for 9 mm, 40 S&W, 10 mm, 45 ACP, 357 Sig in the Glock platform with zero issues.

· Cuhootnified Roamer
11,894 Posts
No problems with the 10mm ?
No issues with 10mm but I'm loading 180 grain bullets to 1200FPS or so at most.
According to Xtreme you can push their plated HP's to 1500 or so IIRC, but for plinking or practice, 1050 to 1200 is fine for me.

· Registered
51 Posts
I tested these "10/40-180 RNFP HPCB" in the Glock 20 with a KKM barrel at roughly 1300 fps and did not get as tight a groups as I do with Hornady HAPs. X-treme claimed they were good to 1500 fps, but in my test off bags they looked like a shotgun pattern at 10 yards off bags, whereas the Hornady's 10 shot group where all touching. I was rather disappointed, so I decided to test in the 40 S&W and at an average of 1020 fps they were perfectly accurate! I would imagine in the 10mm I just need to drop them to 1200 fps or a tad lower and they should be great.

· Registered
8,238 Posts
The best plate bullets I've used so far are Powerbond bullets. Thick copper, and they don't mind pushing to 10mm velocities. Very consistent diameters and weights. I shoot them in 10mm and 40.