Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

So I am a total noob with guns and Glocks. I brought home my first gun today, a Glock 43. I’ve spent hours reading posts in this forum, FB groups, and watching YouTube videos to educate myself and try to do things right.

Apparently I still have lots to learn and I fear that I made a total rookie mistake. Feel free to face palm as you read this. I locked my gun with the cable lock, but looped it through the barrel. I quickly realized that it didn’t look right and removed it and YouTube’d the right way. Since then I also read the Glock manual thoroughly. I did some panic googling and found quite a few sites that actually show that you can lock it that way, or the other way. With picture instructions for both ways. But other sites warning that looping through the barrel can damage the barrel. So, now I’m super worried that I damaged my barrel off the rip. I inspected it as best as I could with a light and didn’t notice any marks or scratches that didn’t go with the rifling.

I guess I’m just hoping for some insight here. Has anyone else locked their gun this way? Or am I just a complete idiot? o_O

·
Native Mainiac
22,732 Posts
Hi everyone!

So I am a total noob with guns and Glocks. I brought home my first gun today, a Glock 43. I’ve spent hours reading posts in this forum, FB groups, and watching YouTube videos to educate myself and try to do things right.