Glock Talk banner

No Gen5 For Me

17417 Views 86 Replies 43 Participants Last post by  GP4L
I've been buying and using Glocks since the 1990's. Over the years not only did I buy their guns, but I bought into their system. A lot of interchangeable stuff like barrels, threaded barrels, magazines and other parts easily bought on the market. With Glock Gen5 you have no interchangeable parts with other generations to include barrels with no threaded, no prior generation magazines or other parts. So…no Gen5 for me! The new Glock 19X will take the old magazines, but not the Gen5, but has the new barrel. Consider this when buying it.
See less
I've been buying and using Glocks since the 1990's. Over the years not only did I buy their guns, but I bought into their system. A lot of interchangeable stuff like barrels, threaded barrels, magazines and other parts easily bought on the market. With Glock Gen5 you have no interchangeable parts with other generations to include barrels with no threaded, no prior generation magazines or other parts. So…no Gen5 for me! The new Glock 19X will take the old magazines, but not the Gen5, but...
See more
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Premium Member
13,623 Posts
Gen5 mags won't fit other generations because the angle has changed at the base of the magazine. Not sure on the "extended" magazines.
gen 5 mags wont work only because of the baseplates.. take them off and put gen 4 baseplates on and they will work in any gen including the 5
Unless I'm misunderstanding, Gen5 mags work fine in other Gen's.

I have both, Gen 4 19 & 17 "Summer Specials".

Purchased Gen5 mags, for both guns. They fit & function, perfectly! ;)

· Premium Member
13,623 Posts
OK, I'm confused again now.
This may help. Should be reliable. :dunno: