close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Nighthawk 750?

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by cessnastud, Jul 14, 2006.

1. cessnastud

cessnastud Rawr!!!

I've have'nt been on a bike since I graduated college about 6 years ago and I'm thinking about getting back into riding. I used to bounce around town on a 1982 GPZ550. It ran well enough and fit my budget, but turn heads it did not. That all being said, I was looking for some opinions on a 750 Nighthawk. I want a commuter (about 8 miles one way) and something to run around the local area and do my errands with. I might throw some luggage and a windscreen on and do a quick jaunt, but nothing serious (I'd probably rather fly to where I'm going anyway). I appreciate the Nighthawk's understated apperance and it's utility, but I was looking for other rider's impression and comments. I'm open to any suggestions, but I'd really like to stay under $4000. Economy, reliability, and useability are more important than looks and white knuckle speed. Thanks for any and all help, fire away!

I would also like to add that I don't consider myself an experienced rider. I took a MSF course (and want to take another) and have logged a couple thousand miles, but I prefer not to overstate my skills.

2. WellArmedSheep

WellArmedSheep NRA Member

I think it's considered a standard, so insurance won't be as outrageous as it would if it were a sportbike. Since it's a Honda it should be relatively trouble free if it's taken care of. The DOHC 750 should give you plenty of pep, and you'll be able to outrun just about any cruiser on the road. I don't think you'll have a problem finding one in that price range, either.

3. BCM

BCM