Newbie to 10 mm loading w/?s

Discussion in '10mm Reloading Forum' started by cgff, Feb 20, 2019.

1. cgff

cgff

fellow 10mm loaders?s I’m a Newbie to loading 10mm, but I have loaded .45 357 44 etc. extensively.

My plan to start is Lee 4 die set W/taper crimp. And trading for a set of RCBS dies both carbide
    Current press is RCBS Rock chucker, and lee C press (mostly for seating and crimping)
    Have a Dillion SQ deal currently set for 9mm,

Planning on ordering 10mm Bullets? Reccomendations? jhp or FMJ/Tmj/Cmj?
    Thinking 180g Xtreme, or 180 gr Delta precision or Montana gold 180. Thoughts/Suggestions?

Mainly looking at rolling my own for range and plinking Thinking Blue dot is a good overall
    Powder for 10 mm from what I have read. Thinking low to mid 10mm loads?
    1050 fps to 1200s. Am I in the right place with Blue Dot?
    Recommendations/Thoughts/Suggestions. AA#7? AA#9? Other?
    Good metering? My powder measurer is a RSBS uniflow?
    I usually spot weigh every 5 or so and visually check volume level

My 2-10mm pistols are: Dan Wesson 5”1911 Razorback and Glock 29

I have on hand: BE 86, power pistol, 231, unique. These are used mostly
    For 45 acp and 44 and are 1 lb jugs.

Help a newbie out? Suggestions?
    Wish to share pet loads? I do know work up to get there
    Thank you
    Carl

2. myalias789

myalias789

No problems with the Lee Dies especially using the taper instead of full length last stage. I doubt you will ever have need to change them.

Many of us shoot moly coated lead for practice because of the price.

Blue dot is very accurate but long shot will get you more rounds per pound and is usually more available. Acurate #9 remains king of the heavier weights within book data.

cgff likes this.

3. happie2shoot

happie2shoot

I like my lee dies, no need for the RCBS, IMHO.

For powder, Longshot, 800x work great, for full
    power loads, #9 is good too, so is Power Pistol.

That is what the more powerful factor loads use.