Newbie Needs Help

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by JAREDG21, Apr 16, 2007.

1. JAREDG21

JAREDG21

OKAY I WANT TO LEARN HOW TO FLY FIXED WINGS AND HELICOPTERS. MY REASONS ARE TWO FOLD. ONE REASON IS THAT I AM A BOAT CAPTIAN BY TRADE AND AM STARTING TO MOVE UP INTO SUPER YACHTS THIS IS A VERY COMPEDATIVE AND VERY LUCRATIVE SO ANY EXTRA SKILLS ON MY RESUME HELP. THE OTHER IS THAT I HAVE ALWAYS WANTED TO DO IT. I ALSO NEED ADVICE ON APPROACHING MY MOTHER WITH THE SUBJECT. BEFORE YOU START CALLING ME A MOMMA'S BOY, MY UNCLE DIED SHORTLY AFTER GETTING HIS PILOT'S LISCENCE IN 1985. SHE EVEN MADE MY STEP FATHER PROMISE TO STOP FLYING BEFORE THEY GOT MARRIED. SO WHAT SHOULD I EXPECT TO SPEND AND WHAT RATINGS SHOULD I GO AFTER? LAST BUT NOT LEAST WHAT TO SAY TO MOM?

2. c6601a

c6601a

Stay away from aviation. If you can not master the use of a computer keyboard, you will never be able to master flying. You will just get yourself killed and increase our insurance premiums in the process.

3. JAREDG21

JAREDG21

Have I insulted you in some way?

4. Beeg

Beeg Guest

The best way to find out how much money is to call one of the flight schools in your area and ask them. They'll need to know if you just want a type of ticket (Sport, Private, Commercial, ATP) you're after and if you want extra ratings. A private fixed-wing should run about $5,000 to $6,000. I'm pretty sure just a private helicopter rating will run around $25,000 to $30,000. That may be for a commercial. You'll have to ask your local school.

As for you mom, you're on your own. You can throw safety statistics at her but it sounds like that won't matter. Better yet, if you're still living at home and haven't cut the apron strings, don't tell her.
    Have you told your mom every and all the things you've done? :animlol: