Newbie Here-What do I need?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by gvp559, Jan 31, 2010.

1. gvp559

gvp559

Hi Everyone-

First, I want to say, thank you so much for all of the insight and information you all provide, and how respectful you all are towards oneanother. Seeing a board that is so active, and without a lot of the BS you see on a lot of internet forums is very refreshing.

So, I am in the process of becoming a first time firearm owner. I currently have a G19 on layaway, and can hardly wait to get it paid off. I have also attended a CCW class with my wife and son, to get ourselves educated on all things hand gun related. Whether I end up carrying concealed or not, I wanted to start getting educated and would not even consider carrying until I become proficient in the handling of a pistol. As soon as we pick up our G19, we are going to meet with the instructor out at his range to get some hands on training. I have also spent countless hours here trying to soak up as much info as I can, and what you all have here is a gold mine. I really appreciate all of the contributions to this board that you provide to a novice like me.

I also want to make sure I can be prepared as possible when it comes time to take delivery of my new Glock in a few weeks, so I have a couple of questions as to what I can pick up in the meantime. Currently, I am working on my ammo stash, and will continue to add to the supply, so I have plenty on hand for the range as well as home defense.

Now I am thinking about eye and ear protection, as well as cleaning supplies. I'd like to have this stuff before I pick up my G19. Any suggestions on good quality items I can get to get me started without being too hard on the wallet? Also, are there any other odd and ends I need to pick up in preparation to bringing the new addition to the family home?

I appreciate any input you all can provide, and I look forward to being a member of this community.

2. MavsX

MavsX The Dude Abides