newbie cleaning question

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by projex, Apr 1, 2012.

1. projex

projex

let me start out by saying that I'm new to pistols and chose a 19 gen 4 to pop my cherry and I couldn't be happier. I clean my pistol after every range trip and I have about 600 rounds through it, when I sat down to clean it today I dry brushed the bore then sent some patches soaked in hoppes no. 9 solvent through it followed by clean ones, the grooves in the entry side of the bore are clean and mirror like but as they get towards the muzzle have a gritty gunpowder look to them. So for the past hour I have been scrubbing and sending patch after patch soaked in no. 9 solvent through it and the clean patches are still coming out dirty with the gritty appearance still present. Am I losing my mind or doing something wrong? thanks in advance for any help/suggestions and I apologize for asking such a rookie question.

Last edited: Apr 1, 2012
  2. stolenphot0

stolenphot0 RTF2 Addict

are you using a brass brush or the nylon brush that came with it? I have seen some people wrap a wet patch around a brass brush and send it down. You could also soak the barrel for 10-20 minutes to let it work in. some soak overnight.

3. Aquagear

Aquagear

You probably just have a build up that was not entirely removed with earlier cleanings. I normally use a bronze brush with a liberal amount of solvent on it, push it through the bore several times and let the barrel soak fore a while before using dry patches. Let it soak for a bit sometimes it takes a while for the solvent to soften all the crud.:wavey:

4. Butch

Butch RetiredDinosaur Millennium Member CLM

You're loosing your mind!

So quit worrying.....go shoot!

Certainly clean it best you can, but don't loose any sleep over it. My 1986 vintage G17 barrel has about 150,000 rounds through it, and it still shoot great even though I'm far from studious about cleaning.

5. MikeG36

MikeG36 Have Gun Will Travel