close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Newbee Anderson questions

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by KinderGlocken, Mar 11, 2004.

1. KinderGlocken

KinderGlocken

I’m fairly new to Glock pistols, got a G19 a few months ago. I have been reading all the GSSF info on GT, particularly the tips. From reading the forums I think that I have a good idea what to expect at each stage but I’m sure watching in person will answer a lot of newbee questions. One question I do have is can you have a 3.5 connector and compete in the stock classes. I don’t have one but have read that they are nice. I’m not a very good shooter and have never been in a shooting competition before but from what I have read here, GSSF matches are very friendly to new shooters. So I was thinking of going to the GSSF match in Anderson SC. Anderson is about a 4 hour drive from my house and I was thinking of driving down on Friday night after work. Is there a cheap hotel near the range? Also, where is the range? The GSSF webpage is still down.

Thanks in advance,
    John

2. DaleGribble

DaleGribble Sandwich!

Go to the Anderson match, you'll enjoy it! GSSF matches are low pressure, and everyone will be newbie friendly!

A 3.5lb connecter is fine for the stock classes as long as it is a Glock connecter and not an aftermarket part like the Ghost connecter or the one from Scherer. Personally, I would skip the 3.5 pound connector. I used to have one in my G17 and I actually prefer the 5lb connecter, it just feels crisper to me. My scores also increased when I used the 5lb connector vs. the 3.5lb connector.

As for the directions, someone else will have to help you out with that. I only have a vague idea on how to get there. Anderson is only two hours away from me, so I never get a hotel there and can't help you out with that either, sorry!

3. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member