Newbe Question – Case Prep

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by CarryTexas, Apr 27, 2012.

1. CarryTexas

CarryTexas

I am just starting out reloading and I am still working out all the details and purchasing equipment. However, I have a few questions.

Initially I will be reloading .223. I have about 1500 once fired cases that I have been saving for about the last year. These are military spec brass with crimped primers.

What is the most efficient way to remove the crimp from a large amount of brass?

Without spending $300 on a Dillon power case trimmer. Is there a way to trim a lot of brass quickly and accurately?

Thanks!

2. ColoCG

ColoCG

For removing pp crimp the Dillon Super Swage is a great tool. RCBS has a new pp swager similar to the Super Swage. There are also swager dies that remove the crimps, they are cheaper but much slower.

As far as trimming your brass there are many power trimmers and power adapters that can be used with electric drills that do a quick job. I use a Forster trimmer with an adapter for a electric drill.

You can also use an RCBS X- Die that prevents your brass from lengthening. The only problem if you use this is you still have to trim your brass initially befor it can work.

Google power case trimmers, there are many available. Possum Hollow comes to mind.

Last edited: Apr 27, 2012

3. fredj338

fredj338

Nothing is easy about case prep. Even power trimmers take time to place & remove brass. Primer pockets are a bit easier, but still, all a PITA. I went w/ the Hornady case prep center. Yes it's pricey, but I can do all the seps right thre on one machine include reaming primer pockets. I am using the RCBS 'X' dies so I don't have to trim. So far it's working well, on my 5th reload, w/ a test batch, w/o trimming. I am losing some cases to shoulder splits. I can only assume hard mil spec brass.

4. F106 Fan

F106 Fan