close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New to GT, and G19 (Long post)

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by rixtrix1, Feb 4, 2010.

1. rixtrix1

rixtrix1

After many many years without a firearm, a friend surprised me this Christmas with a blue box G19 he picked up from Glockmeister! So, I decided to do some research, found this site and lurked a while to get a bit of feel for it and found it to be quite informative. I had a few rifles and shotguns in my younger years, but only one handgun, a P89 Ruger. Those all went away for many and various reasons and with a move to a major city( Phoenix) , job changes and kids with disabilities, I didn't have time for shooting or hunting.

My interest in shooting was rekindled about 3 years ago by some work associates( one of whom gave me the Glock) who are heavily into powder guns, but since I lived in town with little opportunity to get out, I started shooting precision airguns competitively. I could practice in my backyard out to 50 yards and I did make it to 3-4 matches a year. Joining NRA and reading American Rifleman expanded the sport even more. Now All I need to do is find some ammo, hopefully at a reasonable price( Gunshow coming up in 2 weeks!). We visited 4 gunshops, Bass Proshops and even Walmart and no 9mm to be found. When I get some, I'll get the wife to accompany me to a range for some instruction and a lot of practice.

One question for now: does anyone make a hard, belt or paddle holster that's padded on the inside? I like the accessibility and retention/release features of a "plastic" holster, but don't appreciate the gun rubbing against it. I do plan on carrying it on hikes in the desert and mountains occasionally. The holster I had for the Ruger had a strap which was a pain to release in a hurry, but leaving it loose wasn't an option. Thanks.
    [​IMG]

Ric Grassmick

Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  2. pangloss9

pangloss9

3. bac1023

bac1023

4. Ima19man

Ima19man