close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New to GSSF questions.

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by G29 Man, Sep 23, 2003.

1. G29 Man

G29 Man Harpin' Millennium Member

I have been shooting for about 9 yrs now and am a pretty good shot. My wife and myself want to start attending GSSF matches in the SE and we are a little nervous about our first time. Are there a lot of first timers that go? We are just worried about getting there and getting stomped. We don't get to shoot many tactical situations at our only 1 distance at a time cardboard target range. Is there anyone else with a range you cannot setup at? What can we do to prepare the best way possible? We are really looking forward to going.

Thanks!

Brian and Tanya

2. G21

G21 Millennium Member

Yes, a lot of first timers go. I introduced a friend to it this year and she already said she can't wait until next year.

As far as preparing, see if your range will allow you to use paper targets the same dimension as the NRA D-1 target.

Remember, GSSF is essentially shooting at one target at a time. You are rewarded more for accuracy than speed. (Although if you can shoot accurately and fast, go for it.)

Read the posts here about preparing for a GSSF match (do a search) and you could also check out sportshooter.com for info.

Also gssfonline.com has tons of info.

3. JWG_34

JWG_34 TeamCarverMount

Not to worry, You and your wife will be warmly welcome at all GSSF matches. You want have a thing to be nervouse about.
    Both of you will be able to shoot in Amature Civilian class, and will be able to enter at least 4 other classes.
    The RO's will be more than glad to talk you through all the stages of fire ,all range commands. And any other questions you might have.
    The group of people you will be shooting with, are a very great bunch of guys and gals. Anyone will be more than glad to answer your questions.
    The most important thing is , Be safe and have a good time.